We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room but uneven and pricey food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Fat Gretchen

Little Fat Gretchen
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Waupaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: All of our bakery is homemade. With that in mind please give us a 24 hour notice when ordering desserts. We have very unique and delicious daily breakfast and lunch specials. We would love to serve you.
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice room but uneven and pricey food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Have eaten here several times. Had some good breakfasts and the baked goods are prolific and the pie is good. Lunch has been a letdown, dry, bland burgers and slooow service if they are busy. Cold fries. Better and much cheaper burgers at Culvers. Very pricey for what is essentially diner food with a few modern touches like pickled onions on the burger. Will try again and hopefully they can improve on their consistency.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wehawehawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    31
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waupaca, Wisconsin
1 review
“Reliably consistently great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Little Fat Gretchen's is the reliable go-to place in Waupaca. As a vegetarian I am assured that there will always be something on the menu besides a salad....She always is willing to adapt a menu item, too, which is really nice. She uses foods you don't find in most other restaurants, especially in the numerous and unique daily specials, because most everything is obviously home made! My only complaint is that there are too many dessert choices, and it makes it difficult to try to lose weight. Great free trade bottomless cup coffee, another big plus. Staff is really efficient, and able to handle the frequently packed environment. This cafe has been such a plus to Waupaca's downtown, we are so fortunate to have Little Fat Gretchen!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca county
1 review
“Wonderful food, great friends ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Three friends looking for a comfortable friendly place to eat and visit. What a pleasant surprise when we entered Little Fat Gretchens . The coffee cups stayed full, the food was awesome, and the wait staff joined our conversation and added to the fun. We NEED to go back ASAP.

Helpful?
Thank RozZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyauwega, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great place to go to eat and spend time with your friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have recently discovered "Little Fat Gretchen"s. I have lost count of the times I've been back since. I have invited both family and friends to come eat here with me. They have all enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The coffee is great and so are the pies and cakes. Gretchen and her staff aims to please. You will enjoy your visit to "Little Fat Gretchens"

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love Everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The atmosphere when walking in is eclectic, yet organized - very inviting! The people are fantastic - fun, friendly, customer focused. The owner Gretchen is down to earth and loves her trade. You can see it in her expression; both on her face and in her food (especially the pie:)! I had the most amazing soupd I've ever had - Chicken with Roasted Brussel Sprouts. The sprouts were organically grown and local and you could defintely tell. It was perfect! I also had a Pesto Swiss GrilledCheese with spinach and onions. The onions had been marinated and perfectly balanced the pesto and swiss cheese. I was very full and satisfied but couldn't resist bringing home severn different pieces of the ten pies they offered! Best all around cafe/restaurant I've eaten at in a very long time. I will definitely be back with friends!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Fat Gretchen also viewed

 

Been to Little Fat Gretchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing