We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chain 'O Lakes Bar & Grill

Chain 'O Lakes Bar & Grill
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Waupaca
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent food, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very good pizza, popular with locals and tourists and right on the main strip in King. Will set up mini-buffets for groups

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waupaca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection at Chain O Lakes Bar and Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Chain O Lakes has a great selection of microbrews including Central Water's Beers.
Interesting selection of soups and daily specials.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToToTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We're not terribly picky and realized this was a bar with a small dining room. We're totally fine with that, but that's where it ends. First, if you aren't lucky enough you will be sitting in plastic patio chairs with a plastic table. Chairs were constantly tipping over from heavy winter coats when people arose. The food was fine - not great not horrible. The pizza had a lot of toppings but was bland. Homemade chips were on the soggy side - could have used a few more minutes in the fryer. The biggest problem is the service and how management doesn't handle things. We were about half way through our meal when a group of youth hockey families arrived. Our waitress was assigned to them which caused total chaos. First, every family was allowed separate checks. But, the kids didn't sit with the parents and she had to keep running between the adults and kids. As this was occurring, more people continue to arrive for the group. The manager never offered her any help with this mess nor was anyone offered service for her regular tables. We came here to watch the Olympics but that was over when the kids arrived too. The manager allowed them to change the tv to hockey. We watched one man go right up to the kitchen to order a dessert and get his bill! We were totally forgotten until I found another waitress for our check. It's apparent management would rather cater to a bunch of unruly kids and parents rather than taking care of the tables who were already purchasing drinks and having dinner. We were happy to leave. There are plenty of other places in Waupaca to get a decent pizza.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Weltz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, MN, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good times!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Home made chips were great!! We had friday night fish and it was pretty good!! We were skeptical going in and they did a great job!! Old Fashions were great also. A great place to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for drinks and good bar food. Inside bar with tvs to watch the game plenty of beers on tap. Outside bar has plenty of seating and tvs. Great atmosphere and friendly staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chain 'O Lakes Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chain 'O Lakes Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing