We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Eric's Porter-Haus

Eric's Porter-Haus
Ranked #65 of 177 Restaurants in Waukesha
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fish fry was dry. Steaks cooked wrong. Salmon was disgusting. We asked to have the bill split up at the end of the meal and were told "we do it by hand so we would have needed to know right away" well if you do it by hand, redo it! I'll never go there again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alidaley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    17
    11
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Eric's this past weekend to use a coupon that was about to expire. To be honest, we were a little nervous based on the past reviews reviews here. We were pleasantly surprised by the food and service. Using the coupon was a little strange as it couldn't be used on any of the specials - regardless by the time we bought drinks and the meals, we were good. I had the Iowa pork chop which was huge and well grilled. My husband had the prime rib that was good - not the best around but good. Our server (and her server in training) were attentive and polite. No complaints here. I will admit, they have a pretty pricey menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FinsUp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“inconsistent quality”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been here 3-4 times this year with mixed results. The fish fry and service is usually good if you get there early on Friday. Steaks were ok - nothing special - reasonably priced. It is worth a try if you are nearby - would not make a special effort to go there. Maybe things have changed since our last visit in July.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEWAUKEE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Food not bad service was poor and Owner is very rude and jerky not a people person at all and would not honor groupon coupon and yelled at us in front of everyone will never go back there please dont waste your money or time on someone that doesnt appreciate his customers!!! Hope he goes out of business he deserves it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Pamela J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steaks good, Rouladen so-so”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were there last week Saturday. Had a Groupon coupon, which they did accept, but not for specials or their "lite" meals. Service was good, could have been better, but we were satisfied. My husband had a steak which was very flavorful and just the right portion for him. I had the Rouladen and quite frankly I was disappointed..it was rather dry, the gravy was way to thick and tasteless. The cabbage was not good....usually red cabbage is sweet, this was not. I had a bean soup, which for me was a bit spicy (didn't expect that) but okay. The spatzel was very good. I did take my leftover rouladen and spatzel home...doctored up the gravy, and put it in the oven to get it a bit more tender. I am thinking the cut of meat that they use is not what I use at home to make this dish...mine is a whole lot better!
We will probably go back, but not in the near future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eric's Porter-Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing