We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Sandwiches”
Review of Steaming Cup

Steaming Cup
Ranked #6 of 177 Restaurants in Waukesha
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Waukesha Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Superb Sandwiches”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is my go-to lunch place in Waukesha. Kerry does a wonderful job creating new, unusual and tasty sandwiches. Coffee is very good. Excellent tea selection. Desserts, especially bread puddings, are delightful. Service can be slow and lines to order long. But well worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philomundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant post lunch treat”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Made my day today ordering a mocha and sharing dessert with a friend which was a very tasty serving of chocolate espresso cake! Service was very friendly and the dessert was fresh! My friend was also very happy with his cappuccino which says a lot because he's particular about his coffee drink. Medium cappuccino, small mocha and a dessert came to just over $10.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank okielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Coffee Plus”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Daily coffee brews are always of three types. Love the light brews. Excellent breakfasts and lunches are out of the ordinary (recommend oatmeal, Italian Pomodoro), made to order. In a historic downtown building, it caters to full spectrum of customers from college students to business types to seniors. Atmosphere can best be described as quirky, maybe vintage hippie. Hot teas brewed to order from a huge selection are their specialty. I consider SC to be a "find". Frequently I've circled the block to find zero on street parking which is my very minor criticism.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iskico10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Visit to Spring House Tea Room”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

On a lovely Saturday in October 6 friends went to the Sprng House Tea Room for a wonderful afternoon tea. It is presented in a separate room of the Steaming Cup. The table is set with pretty china plates and cups. You get a different tea along with a fascinating explanation about tea with each of the different courses. You start with scones & flavored butters, next 4 different kinds of tea sandwiches, next came the savories, followed by desserts. If you can round up 6 friends I highly recommend making a reservation and spending the afternoon having a fabulous and informative tea.
Terry & Kerry are exceptional hosts and will present you with a picture of your group at the end your visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“What Fun - and Good, Too!”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Although I don't get to Waukesha much since the rest of my family left the winters and moved near me in California, any time I am in town, I fit in a visit to the Steaming Cup. Last month, in 3 days, I was there twice for breakfast. AND I took a sandwich to go for my flight back home.

The coffee is GOOD, the pastries are all very good, and the sandwiches are outstanding. The counter people are Midwestern-friendly, helpful and efficient. Even though the line goes to the door once in a while, no one seems to mind because they are with friends and the staff is hustling. With the chess and the newspapers and the people watching, it is a good place to get a refill and sit a little longer. I wish it was in my neighborhood - in place of the always indifferent Starbucks!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steaming Cup also viewed

 

Been to Steaming Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing