We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to Spring House Tea Room”
Review of Steaming Cup

Steaming Cup
Ranked #6 of 176 Restaurants in Waukesha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Visit to Spring House Tea Room”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

On a lovely Saturday in October 6 friends went to the Sprng House Tea Room for a wonderful afternoon tea. It is presented in a separate room of the Steaming Cup. The table is set with pretty china plates and cups. You get a different tea along with a fascinating explanation about tea with each of the different courses. You start with scones & flavored butters, next 4 different kinds of tea sandwiches, next came the savories, followed by desserts. If you can round up 6 friends I highly recommend making a reservation and spending the afternoon having a fabulous and informative tea.
Terry & Kerry are exceptional hosts and will present you with a picture of your group at the end your visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    32
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
203 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“What Fun - and Good, Too!”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Although I don't get to Waukesha much since the rest of my family left the winters and moved near me in California, any time I am in town, I fit in a visit to the Steaming Cup. Last month, in 3 days, I was there twice for breakfast. AND I took a sandwich to go for my flight back home.

The coffee is GOOD, the pastries are all very good, and the sandwiches are outstanding. The counter people are Midwestern-friendly, helpful and efficient. Even though the line goes to the door once in a while, no one seems to mind because they are with friends and the staff is hustling. With the chess and the newspapers and the people watching, it is a good place to get a refill and sit a little longer. I wish it was in my neighborhood - in place of the always indifferent Starbucks!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food in an historic setting”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Innovative and tremendously tasty sandwiches. If your weakness is sweets, best stay away as there always is something calling your name when you step up to the counter. Coffee and teas appeal to a range of tastes. The welcoming environment is a favorite for Waukesha residents.

The restaurant is in a beautiful historic building surrounded by art galleries and fascinating shops for all the delightful things that want to go home with you. If you appreciate historic architecture, this is a must as the restaurant is in the heart of historic downtown Waukesha, the home of guitar great Les Paul.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good teas and coffee”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

While living in Waukesha, I went to Steaming Cup a few times and always had consistent good food and service.

The things I liked best was ham and cheese scone and also the oatmeal.

The teas were good, my favorite was one that had cranberry in it (iced), it taste almost like juice. It was superb.

Also the white chocolate latte is really good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbjllj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tremendous Selection of Looseleaf Teas”
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Not only great coffee, but what a selection of tea! Green, red, black, white, herbal - everything you can possibly think of. Brewed up just right, too. They also own the Waukesha Spring House Tea Room which you can reserve for a special occasion. Very knowledgeable about different teas - I got quite the education!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WaukeshaWalkAbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steaming Cup also viewed

 

Been to Steaming Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing