We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ, and service”
Review of Famous Dave's - CLOSED

Famous Dave's
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ, and service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Never been to a Famous Dave's.
The food was superb!
I have eaten BBQ all over the USA and what is considered BBQ in many countries around the world.
This is an excellent restaurant, the staff, the setting, and the food.
It is excellent BBQ, and all the better given it is made in WI, not known as a BBQ state.
'Nuff said!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank olbear1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I always get the Georgia chopped pork and have never been disappointed. They also have ribs,brisket and many other good selections.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn0448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had lunch here the other day and it was really good. I got the 2 meat platter with brisket and pulled pork. The pulled pork was a little dry, but once sauced up it was good. The brisket was amazing. I found myself thinking during the meal that I should have just got a double order of brisket.

Corn muffin was really good too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If I could eat at just one restaurant the rest of my life, Famous Dave's would probably be it. They have a great tasting menu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hoferdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

They don't do it right......the original place in Hayward is the best - and only location that does ribs right - this place dries them out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Talag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing