We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Country Springs Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“WOW”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just terrible. Staff was rude. Rooms were outdated and worn out. Beds were lumpy and stained sheets. Small garden pool area was nice but water was to cold to swim in. Water park lacked life, whirlpool was cold, lazy river small. Didn't brother with breakfast as we seen the menu vs the price and didn't seem worth it. Also seen a lot of guest coming back with McDonald's so we just did the same. Checked out and stayed across the street at the Best Western can't wait to finish this review to write one for them. Place was amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneralManager3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    97
    69
    51
    39
See reviews for
208
24
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I spent a night at the Country Springs Hotel with (2) 13 year olds the last weekend of Christmas break on a Friday night. I'm confused by the bad reviews. This review is based on leisure and not from a business stay perspective. The check-in was quick and easy. Our room was spacious and clean. Waterpark was well staffed and clean. Room service efficient. This is not a luxury 5 star hotel by any means but clean and well staffed. We had no issues at all. I highly recommend Coppers bar and Grill. Staff was top of the line, catering to our every need and very friendly. The food was all good and reasonably priced. Had a very enjoyable time at Coppers. We were there when the hotel was at about 50% capacity so service was perhaps better than when hotel is at full capacity. The waterpark was mid sized, clean and in good shape. The 3 larger waterslides were nothing like the large slides you find in the Dells but large enough that my (2) 13 year olds were kept busy for a few hours. Our room was in the executive wing so perhaps those rooms are in better shape. Overall Country Springs hotel is an affordable quick getaway for families to enjoy some time together. I would highly recommend. Some of the reviews make it sound run down and shabby which almost scared me away. I am glad we took the chance as this hotel is very decent and clean.

Room Tip: Get a room in the executive wing. Seems more updated from what other reviewers are saying
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationfrenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSH2810, Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear vacationfrenzie:

Thank you for sharing your review of the Country Springs Hotel! We are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed your stay over Christmas Break and that your (2) 13 year olds were kept busy with the attractions in the water park. We appreciate your comments about both the water park and hotel being clean, comfortable and well staffed. Additionally, your comments that our staff was “friendly and catered to your every need” is exactly what our team strives to accomplish with each guest. It is always our goal to make each guest experience a memorable one, and it sounds like we were able to meet you expectations.

Thank you again for highly recommending Country Springs Hotel as an affordable quick getaway for families. We look forward to your return visit to the Country Springs Hotel.

Tiffany Woodward
twoodward@countryspringshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

New Years Eve fell flat. We had friends from out of state coming up and wanted to do something out of the ordinary with all the kids (teens and primary). Since we had five families, we wanted to find a place where we could be together. We decided the small pool had plenty of tables where we could play cards while the kids came and went from the water park. We were told that 11 pm we could get kicked out this pool area even though it was New Years Eve. We asked where else we might be able to gather. We found a common area and 10 minutes after midnight the hotel patrol informed us that we would need to disperse. What? We filled up a room and tried to stay in there. Guess what. Patrol kept telling us we cannot talk in our room now. Is there anyone who goes to a water park hotel and wants to turn in early? If a hotel has this type of policy why would they advertise a New Years Eve package?
Okay the beds were fine, the bathrooms were clean, the breakfast buffet is "bacon-ey". I don't go in their hot tub anymore due to getting a suspicious rash each time but that might not be able to be avoided due to the excessive amounts of chlorine that is added. It will burn your eyes just sitting in the water area people. As I tell people about my bad experience I have learned that Wisconsin Dells Kalihari lets you stay up and be social until at least 2am. That seems reasonable for a special night like this.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSH2810, Front Office Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us in regards to your recent visit to our hotel. While it is our intent to only provide the most exceptional service to all of our valued guests, however it can sometimes become challenging when it comes to our quiet hours between 11pm and 7am.
We did try to extend that until midnight due to ringing in the New Year however at that time we did request all families retire to their sleeping rooms. We are so happy to have you as our guests and do hope you will be back again.
If you would like to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me at sbarton@countrysprings.hotel.com and my direct line is 262-970--5423. I am hoping that your day is fabulous and make it a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waukesha hotels

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Front Desk Staff couldn't have been friendlier! The helpful woman (sorry didn't catch the name) was fantastic. Helping us figure out the most cost effective way for our mini-trip. The Water Park was great for our adventurous 2 year old. Not too busy either. The room was a bit outdated, but clean and adequately appointed.

We were too early for the breakfast buffet (not included) so we ordered off the menu... The food was fine, the waitstaff friendly, but the price was on the high side.

Overall a great place to stay with the kids. We live nearby and will return for another taste of summer, with water park fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Foerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSH2810, Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the Country Springs Hotel. It is always nice to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and I am sure they appreciate the positive remarks. I also wanted to thank you for the comments regarding the breakfast buffet and the water park. We look forward to having you visit us again for “another taste of summer with water park fun.”

Tiffany Woodward
twoodward@countryspringshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I can't even begin to say how disappointing my NYE experience was. Advertising a special package for NYE and then closing everything at 11 PM was poor judgement and misrepresentation. As we tried to ring in the new year we were continually "kicked" out of common areas and forced to our room. Throughout the night we were continually bothered with "noise complaints" from security because they could "hear us talking outside the door." We were threatened with being thrown out if we didn't stop "talking." I will not be returning to the Country Springs again.

If you want to go have a fun time with family and friends at a hotel then I wouldn't recommend Country Springs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSH2810, Front Office Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts and concerns on your recent stay. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations during your visit. We always want every guest to feel welcomed and our goal is to exceed their expectations.
We closed the Water Park at it's scheduled time of 11:00 pm with the thought that families would like to get snuggled in their room to ring in the New Year together. I am very sorry that you feel the package was not what you had thought it was going to be. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me at 262-547-0201 x5423 or via email at sbarton@countryspringshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Took my niece and kids to the Country Springs Water Park for a Christmas vacation activity. We went only for the day and did not stay in the hotel overnight. They have day passes available for the public. We have been to many hotel water parks in different cities and we were highly impressed. We had a great time! The facility is clean and the staff is very friendly. The lifeguards are actively watching what's going on (not always the case at some of the other places that we have been) and they are not blowing their whistles all of the time. The air temperature and water temperature were comfortable, Locker rooms were clean and easy to move around in. The have lockers and (at the time of this review) offered locks for a $5 deposit which is refund when you turn in your key at the end of your day ~ very nice. Much better than having to pay $5-$10 with no refund at other parks. I hope that they keep this amenity. Concession food was good and prices were reasonable. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: If you go to Country Springs just for the water park, order tickets on line or go within two hours o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2walkonh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSH2810, Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that your family enjoyed the water park and we appreciate the positive comments you made about the park and lifeguard staff. We look forward to having you and your family visit us again soon!

Tiffany Woodward
twoodward@countryspringshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites at the back of the hotel. Lots of room but badly in need of renovation and upgrades. Everything from the TVs to the hairdryer had to have been 30 years old. If you cherish vintage, this is the hotel for you. Thankfully, the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukesha
1.0 mi away
Best Western Waukesha Grand
5.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Brookfield
2.4 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 4 in Pewaukee
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Milwaukee Marriott West
Milwaukee Marriott West
#1 of 4 in Pewaukee
285 reviews
8.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee West (Brookfield)
4.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waukesha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Springs Hotel

Property: The Country Springs Hotel
Address: 2810 Golf Rd, Waukesha, WI 53072-5449
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Waukesha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Country Springs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Springs Hotel, Water Park and Conference Center, located only 20 minutes west of Milwaukee, is situated on 40 picturesque acres of the Kettle Moraine Countryside. Our luxurious whirlpool suites, 40,000 square feet of meeting space, 2 restaurants and a 45,000 square foot Water Park is the *Essence of Hospitality*. Each of guest rooms include free WiFi, microwave and refrigerator. Suites offer spacious, marble bathrooms with whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Country Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Springs Hotel
Country Springs Waukesha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing