We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Except the Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Kiel, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Except the Pool”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice hotel. Rooms were big, clean, and nicely furnished. Staff was very nice and friendly. Even the housekeeping crew said "Thanks for staying with us" as we left which was nice. The pool was not so nice. The pool area itself is great but the the water was very murky and cloudy. I could not see my own feet as I stood in the shallow end.!? Cloudy and it smelled like a heavy dose of way too much chlorine. My kids eyes hurt and they were wearing goggles. We mentioned it to the front desk and they said the would take a look. We'll see if they do. The whirlpool water was crystal clear but the pool was not. If not for the pool, I would have rated the hotel very good as everything else was great about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funk5-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear unk5-0,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the staff here at the hotel and the facilities that we offer

I am sorry to hear that you didn't find our pool area to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction you had and for any negative impressions you may have had.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
15
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
487 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Staying overnight to work in Watertown, this is convenient and clean. I was greeted as a Priority Club member, but not give the water/snack that others were given as I saw the next day. They do offer cookies to guest, but being gluten-free, I can't partake. The room was clean & comfortable. The breakfast in the morning offered scrambled eggs, bacon, juice, yogurt, coffee, etc. so plenty for all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are riding a Harley, so it's nice to have restaurants and shops in walking distance. There is no front portico to park the bike under , in case of rain. The pool was very warm and hot tub was about 102. Sink/vanity was outside of toilet/tub area...nice for 2 people getting ready at same time. Breakfast was the usual but seemed fresher than most. Cute downtown to visit before checking in. Cheaper than Milwaukee, but close enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When you're booking a Holiday Inn Express stay, you're generally looking for a somewhat "factory-made" and basic room, at a reasonable price. It met the expectations.

Nothing fancy here - but it's probably what you're looking for if you're booking a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_L42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Scott_L42,

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. It is nice to know that our location was convenient for you and our rooms suited your needs. It is hugely motivating to read positive feedback from our guests as we rely on you to tell us how we are doing.

Again, I appreciate the candid feedback and hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Holiday Inn Express has become a family favorite. Unfortunately, it has become the favorite of many families through the years so book early. Location is midway between Milwaukee and Madison with travel time equally short in either direction should you elect to visit either city. What's nice about this clean quiet, inviting place is that we have been enjoying it for the past 15 years and service to it's visitors always gets better. Location is situated at the quiet end of town, with ample restaurants to select from & the only thing missing from it's continental breakfast is the waitress...what a selection of hot & cold items. Everything from eggs, pancakes, sausages, rolls, yogurt, toast, English muffins, bagels, coffee, teas, juice, & this isn't even touching on the cold side of breakfast.

Room Tip: We enjoy the family room which is 2 queens and a fold out sleeper full size sofa. That way the teen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Staying here wasn't planned. We were just passing through and were ready to stop for the night. James at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast a little better than average. Kwik trip was just across the parking lot as were several places to eat. We would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in need of accommodations while in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorcycle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Ground floor room was a bit smaller than we were used to at this hotel, but everything was clean and neat. Great shower, although there was some unavoidable overspray that made the tile floor slippery. Guest services had my requested washcloths at our door within two minutes of my calling the desk. Management was very friendly dealing with a small issue we had. Plan to book here again in a couple of months :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watertown
1.7 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel
Heritage Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
#1 of 2 in Johnson Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Johnson Creek
Days Inn Johnson Creek
#2 of 2 in Johnson Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Milwaukee West Oconomowoc
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc
10.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Mills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Address: 101 Aviation Way, PO Box 481, Watertown, WI 53094-7412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel Watertown Wisconsin. We are a 79 guest room hotel and conference center. Located on Hwy 26 in Watertown Wi, halfway between Madison and Milwaukee, 6 miles north of Interstate 94. We are also located only minutes from downtown Watertown's shopping, and dining. Located minutes from Maranatha, Luther Prep, Bethesda, Delarue, Eaton, and Johnson Creek Outlet Mall and 25 minutes from the Fireside Dinner Theatre. Wireless high speed Internet access available in all rooms. The hotel features include an indoor pool, spa, sauna, and fitness room. Enjoy our complimentary Express Start continental breakfast with the Holiday Inn Express exclusive cinnamon roll Visit Watertown, WI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Watertown Hotel Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing