We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a difference a year makes :(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Bend RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Bend RV Resort
Level Contributor
155 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here multiple times last year- and loved it. We didn't get to come this year until the last weekend in September- exactly a year since our last visit and so much has changed. I kept getting the excuse of "it's the off season" for the multiple problems but last year when we stayed the problems weren't there. Also if you have planned scheduled events and your website states off season is not until Oct 12, don't use "it's the off season" as an excuse. I was embarassed because we brought our friends and their 11 year old nephew this time and all the things we bragged about were not brag worthy anymore. Jumping pillow- broken and wouldn't be fixed until "next season." Arcade games and change machine near showers gone until "next season." All the cool bikes to check out went from a 5 dollar deposit to a 10 dollar deposit AND a two hour limit! Not to mention most were broken (probably not fixed until "next season.") The camp store was a whole other issue. I usually get eggs and other dairy there so I dont have to transport it but they were not getting anymore shipments. They also had a beer cooler where we would buy if we ran out but it was GONE! Oh well, the Jefferson Walmart made alot of money that weekend. And another kicker was the store's water supply was shut off- my question was how did the lady running the store wash her hands to serve the icecream? Ick...
Other issues included no one working the front gate because there was only one security working and he was "doing his rounds." Dont do rounds at 5pm on a friday when most weekend campers want to check in! The line was HUGE. Our site had an apple tree- who in their right mind plants an apple tree on a site?! The bees were awful! But I also knew how hard it would be to switch sites. So instead we bought bug bomb spray at Walmart after our kid's friend got stung and that helped a little. It was Halloween weekend there were supposed to be hayrides- there were not, the pumpkin painting contest ran out of pumpkins... Such a bummer. Pair this with the fact 90% of the place is permanent sites or yearly sites and its like nightly renters do not matter- the other reviews of local drunks is true- this is the first time I didn't feel safe. It's sad I may have to start looking elsewhere after 6 successful visits this one really was disappointing.

Room Tip: Make sure your site doesn't have an apple/fruit tree!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    4
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Riverbend can be a dangerous place! If you like to party it will be a perfect place for you! But be careful because rules don't seem to apply! Security isn't equipped to take care of all of the problems or they won't take care of the problems because all of the regulars do what they want, and don't seem to care. People drive crazy and at times drive drunk. Don't let anything out of sight or reach if you want to keep it safe including your kids and pets! People have gotten serious hurt and died from accidents from trying to just think they were having fun! It seems like it is the perfect place to go racing and practice your drunk driving skills....isn't a golf cart just a big go cart that is what some make it seem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunately it's difficult to get in on weekends and it's little surprise. Riverbend has something for everyone. Wading pool for the tots, the largest pool I've seen in decades of camping, and 2 huge waterslides. They also have a swimming pond with huge inflatables, and a massive sandy beach. All with lifeguards, something you rarely find at campgrounds. Too cool? Try the catch and release pond or fish, canoe the river. Jump on the pillow, mini-golf, driving range, free bikes, frisbie golf, frog pond, Saturday night bands and Karoke. Good food, drinks, pizza delivered to your site and a well stocked campstore with 2 buck huge ice cream cones. Numerous activities for kids, Bags, horseshoes, firewood delivered and fun themed weekends. Does it get noisy? No worse than most campgrounds. Maybe it's your fault...you weren't tired enough from all of the activities. During the week it clears out and you have the place to yourself. It's Wisconsin's best kept secret.

Room Tip: If you want a weekend you'll need to call early, Memorial weekend gets booked in January.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thorncrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a great place!! We had a trailer and tent on one site. All together there were six adults and seven kids. We all had an excellent time. The kids brought their bikes and had fun riding around the property. They enjoyed doing crafts, jumping on the big pillow, swimming in the heated pool and going down the water slides, getting ice cream cones, playing mini golf, they swam in the pond a little and the older kids swam out to the inflatables and enjoyed them but the water there is fifteen to twenty feet deep. You can get them a life vest for a small deposit if needed. They also had fun on the swings and slides. There's plenty of things for the kids to do, they were never bored. The adults rented a golf cart to ride around in. All enjoyed riding in the cart to the top of a hill to check out the spectacular view. The adults also had fun swimming and having a couple of cocktails at the poolside bar. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Trailercamper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have been going to Riverbend for the last 7 years. I love it! I take my 3 kids there and we have fun at the beach and the pool! Lots of activities for both and elsewhere on the property! Saturday nights usually always something fun at the Pavilion and DJ or Band! Not as dusty now the the roads have been redone! This is more of a resort than a campground! It is nice to have day activities also planned for the kids! Nice remodeling at the Inn which allows for adult fun with karakokee and more! Great remodel of the pool bar too! You can make memories with your kids and your friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed with friends that own a site, We had a number of issues. The park has a event called "water wars" This event gives the ok for everyone to pelt fellow campers with water ballons. What we ran into with this event was water ballons filled with water and gravel, Pressure wash hoses and pumps blasting people, cars and Karts with high pressure water.
our 1 yr old baby boy was blasted in the face with gravel and water. Doesent seem to be any security or management at all anywhere. toilets overflowing, showers out of order. The resturant couldent open Sunday Morning (help dident show up for work) Our friends say the foods bad anyway. One site played loud music till 4 am. Girl at front office said nothing could be done, site with loud music belonged to park president.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thumper777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Been going there for over 10 years with Family/Friends...but no longer. They have raised their rates so much it's just not affordable when there are so many other nicer campgrounds out there with the same or nicer amenites for half the price. $80 per night is not the "norm" for a campsite! They now allow the public to come in and use their pool and pond so the people that do pay $80 per night can't even get a place to sit because it's so over crowded. The rental units are dirty and falling apart and I believe you can get a very nice hotel room in the Dells for what they charge for those per night. The roads are dusty, dusty, dusty and the showers are less than desirable to say the least. Save your money...there's a LOT nicer out there for a LOT cheaper!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doverharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watertown
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
8.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel
Heritage Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Mills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Super 8 Watertown WI
Super 8 Watertown WI
#3 of 3 in Watertown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices

Been to River Bend RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend RV Resort

Property: River Bend RV Resort
Address: W6940 Rubidell Rd, Watertown, WI 53094-9116
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Watertown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Watertown
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
River Bend Rv Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing