We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small hotel in a relaxing, tranquil setting with great food.”

Findlay's Holiday Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Findlay's Holiday Inn
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Very small bed and breakfast atmosphere. Owners took care of everything from checking us in and out and waiting on tables in the dining room. Very friendly. Rooms had quilts on the beds and small seating alcoves overlooking Lake Michigan. Breakfast is not included, but was fabulous. Lots of locals were eating there the morning we were there. Enjoyed a walk after breakfast through the expansive back yard and down to a platform overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foxtail95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

For any trip we need a good hospitality and find it in this Inn! We liked the room, the sitting area inside the room overloking the lake, perfect backyard for out door fun and very friendly people who wr very helpful!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank malayale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one night for a trip to hunt with friends on the island. The owner is very friendly and warm and makes great food. The rooms were comfortable and slept well before an early rise to hunt. Would reccomend to travelers looking for a nice, clean place to stay on the island. Would also reccomend this hotel as a place to get dinner. The TV's could be a little bit bigger with channel selection to include ESPN, but a minor inconvienence in comparison to having a decent place to stay. On a major plus that I would gladly take over TV, is their wifi connection. It's fast and stable!

Arrived at night, but stopped back in the morning when the sun was up. The view is beautiful and the property is situated at the end of a cul de sac which is nice-- very private.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milwaukeesbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

I went to Washington Island with my 2 yr old granddaughter and could not have asked for a better place to stay. We were on the main floor and slept very comfortably the 3 nights we were there. The breakfasts in the mornings were very good, and the only complaint I would have is that as the dining area filled the noise in the room was as if they were in the room, but I didnt mind cause we were already up anyway. This is not a place to stay if you want excitment, music, pool, hot tub or to even watch T.V....etc. This was truly a place to come and relax and just take a step back in time. I am returning again to Holiday for the fall colors..I cant wait.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank vacationperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Washington Island is Martha's Vineyard fifty years ago! An absolutely gorgeous island with farms and crystal clear water and great little places to stop and get a drink or a cup of coffee. Do NOT go if you need a lot of action, shopping, nightlife and cable TV. DO go if you need to unwind, chill, zone out, breathe!

If you go skip The Washington Hotel, Restaurant and Culinary School - had dinner there and it was so completely pretentious with terrible service and mediocre food. DO go to the Red Cup for coffee, Deer Run Golf course and pub for a drink and 9 or 18 holes and do not miss Schoolhouse Beach.

We stayed at Findlay's Holiday Inn and found out about it from this site and were happy to get reservations for a summer weekend. We actually stayed in the Holiday Inn Too which is across the driveway from the main hotel and restaurant. The word "odd" was in my head the entire time. I believe it was a one story barn or lodge and then a second floor was wedged in between. Seriously odd. We were on the second floor and if you are over 5'10" then good luck. The rooms were large enough but there was a pervasive smell of Febreeze or some other carpet freshener that gave everyone a headache so we had to keep all the windows and doors open to air it out.

The place was fine the first night when we had it practically to ourselves but the second night it was booked to the hilt. The walls were absolutely paper-thin (which is such a cliche, Isn't it?) and we could hear someone snoring below us, a baby waking up all night and two men from a large tour talking at moderate levels at the bottom of the stairs had to be shushed at midnight.

The front yard facing the water was nice and the boardwalk out to a dock overlooking the bay was delightful.

If and when we go back we would probably try to rent a cottage on the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Transplant_from_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We were in Door County, Wisconsin for a week and spent the last three days at Findlay's Inn on Washington Island. The room we stayed in was small, but cozy and comfortable. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the large backyard and the lake. The room had a nice small sitting area at the window where you could just watch the wild flowers, birds, and reflection of the sunset on the lake. We ventured out all over the island looking for the perfect place to eat, the perfect place to watch the sunset, the perfect place to view the lake....and on our last day, finally figured out that the perfect place was right there at Findlay's Inn. The breakfast was incredible. They bake their own bread, make their own fresh raspberry, cherry and strawberry jam. The food was absolutely wonderful and flavorful and homemade doughnuts were available on certain days of the week. The locals fill the dining room....for a reason. They also know the food is great. The innkeepers were very friendly, accomodating and casual. After driving the island, we felt that this was the a place we would come back to....for quiet, relaxing and rejuvenating vacations. If you are looking for hot tubs, pools, nightlife....this is not the inn, nor is Washington Island the place. But if you are looking to just rest and explore....walk the beaches, ride bikes, and watch sunrises and sunsets...this is great.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kadykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Very quaint Norwegian decor with quilts on the walls and bed, and a lovely sitting area overlooking a beautiful view of the lake. We enjoyed walking around the expansive backyard and sitting in the gazebo or down on the dock by the lake. The hotel breakfast was delicious and the doughnuts we bought on our last day to take along were fabulous! We biked and walked to many attractions from the hotel and strongly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elizabeth6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington Island
15.3 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#8 of 17 in Sister Bay
79 reviews
15.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
181 reviews
15.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
253 reviews
21.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
240 reviews
18.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Findlay's Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Findlay's Holiday Inn

Address: 1 Main Rd, Washington Island, WI 54246-0135
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Washington Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Washington Island
Price Range: $66 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Findlay`s Holiday Hotel Washington Island
Holiday Inn Washington Island
Washington Island Holiday Inn
Findlay's Holiday Inn Washington Island, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing