We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique beach”
Review of Schoolhouse Beach

Schoolhouse Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis,MN
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“unique beach”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

a soft rock beach with amazing clear water--cold --but amazing. It rained when we were there so we didn't spend alot of time there but if it wasn't raining we would have spent the afternoon there. Worth seeing

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gingadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    82
    28
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a beautiful spot on Washington Island. The round rocks make this an unusual beach, and the trees growing around the shore are striking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach in the Midwest!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Absolutely loved this beach-water is perfect, clear and stones are polished and beautiful. Pick up a tasty sandwich and brew and head there!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lots of rocks”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The beach is 100 % rocks. Round rocks that are okay to sit and hang out on. The beach has a raft that you can swim out to and jump in off of. It is in a lovely bay and the kids loved jumping in off the raft and swimming and tossing rocks in the water. A good afternoon for us.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Consultant577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beach, worth the visit, stop in town for a bit, too”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We took the Island Clipper and then went on the Viking Train tour. We considered bringing our car to Washington Island over the other ferry but thought we'd leave the touring to the pros. I think it was a good idea and we'd recommend the tour. We saw the ostrich farm (around a B), the general store of the town (D), a cool church (B) and the Schoolhouse Beach (A). The beach is very picturesc and the water is a beautiful auqa blue. I wish we spent more time there. However, we asked the tour guide to let us off in town on their way back through and we had a blast at all 4 bars in the town. We made our own Washington Island pub crawl and enjoyed talking to the islanders and tourists alike.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank n8r_tot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoolhouse Beach also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Schoolhouse Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing