We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating on Washington Island”
Review of The Danish Mill

The Danish Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 2010 with the atmosphere of a Danish Bakery. Located on beautiful Washington Island at the tip of Wisconsin's Door County Peninsula, we feature fresh baked breads, Kringle, pastries, pies, cookies and bars. In addition to the mouth watering bakery, we have the best sandwiches in the county - made exclusively with quality Boar's Head brand deli products. Add to this homemade soups, salads and Door County Coffee, tea, smoothies and espresso drinks and a friendly "fast casual" restaurant environment, and you have an unforgettably delicious dining experience.
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eating on Washington Island”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very nice little restaurant on Washington Island.
Good food ! and friendly service. A place to get some coffee !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappermom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    26
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a nice find on the Island. Had soup, sandwiches and smoothies. It was all great. And based on how busy the place was I think it is a local favorite as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingGirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Food was delicious. We ate breakfast and lunch there. They open early which is very nice when you want a good cup of coffee first thing in the morning. They have a wide variety of pastries. The staff was friendly and the service was fast despite the restaurant being packed at lunch time! The ingredients were fresh and the portions were generous. The other thing we very much appreciated was how clean the Danish Mill is. I would highly recommend this restaurant and plan to return regularly when I am back on Washington Island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nancy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Coffee and bakery stop”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Danish Mill is one of the first food stops that people pass when they arrive on Washington Island. It's a good stop for a cup of coffee and some bakery. There's a back porch area that can be pleasant to sit at. The restaurant offers a wifi connection in a wifi starved area. A plus is that they open up at 6am, so if you are leaving the island and want to grab a coffee for the road, the Danish Mill will help you out!

Lunch offerings are average, though: basic bread, salad greens from a bag, some sodas in the refrigerator case. The restaurant can be very crowded, too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HarperMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We did not eat here, but enjoyed the gift shop”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Unfortunately we ate somewhere else and stopped here simply for the gift shop. The gift shop was great and had a lot of unique products for decent prices. I had been a little disappointed with Washington Islands shops, but was glad to find some fun things here. I purchased beer soap which was a fun find. Will definitely try to eat here next time we visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Danish Mill also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 

Been to The Danish Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing