We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, short boat ride.”

Washington Island Ferry Line
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ripon, WI
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A nice, short boat ride.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I, along with out three grandchildren (6, 8, and 11), rode the ferry over to Washington Island and back. The grandchildren had never been on any kind of ship before so it was fun for them while not being so long that it was boring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillW611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    119
    28
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, IL
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun to do once”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Washington Island is fun to do once - probably don't need to go back after that. We took our car across on the ferry. Note - this is almost an entire day trip, since we had to wait in line to board the ferry and, since there were so many cars, we had to wait for two ferry trips before we got on. On the way back, we headed to the dock early and only had to wait for one. Once over on the island, you feel like you went back in time to the 1960's. Schoolhouse Beach is the best thing to see. The mountain tower gives you a great view, and the farm museum is worth spending 10 minutes at. Other than that, not much to do. My kids thought the ferry rides were the best part of the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason_Tinley_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Quick trip from the Mainland”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent several days in Door County and it's almost necessary to make the trip over to Washington Island. This ferry line runs many trips a day vs. the other line which has less than 1/2 as many trips. Makes it much easier to come and go as you wish. Boat was clean, employees friendly, and had both outdoor and indoor seating. Would use this line again. You will probably want to take the Cherry Train Tour of the island as well, unless you drive your car on the ferry to have it on the island. A discount combo ticket for ferry and Cherry Train Tour can be purchased.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lggg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun Afternoon Outing on Washington Island”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family with teens took our bikes on the Ferry to Washington Island. It was a fun afternoon trip. We biked to town and had a great lunch at Nelsons. So glad we did it. Take layers because the ferry ride can be cook if there is a breeze on the lake. Fantastic views of the islands.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dkfalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun All by Itself”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Washington Island was a fun experience, but the ferry was so much fun in and of itself! My husband and I enjoyed sitting out on the deck, enjoying the views, and breathing in the fresh air. It was enjoyable! I do feel it is a little over priced- 52$ for a vehicle and 2 adults. Although this is the round trip fare, we only spent 3 hours or so actually on the island so it felt a little steep. The ferry was very quick in loading and off loading which made the trip so much more relaxing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Island Ferry Line also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Washington Island Ferry Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing