We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rustic Get-Away”
Review of Dor Cros Inn

Dor Cros Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dor Cros Inn
Rochester, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Rustic Get-Away”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had a great few days at the Dor-Cross Inn. Hosts Cory and Laura were fantastic, very obliging and informative with things to do. Rooms very homely, had everything you need in a good, basic and tidy form. Good central spot on the island. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My first extended weekend visit to Washington Island was booked on a spur of a moment decision that I absolutely needed time to get away from the city and find a place that offered me peace and quiet. By luck of the Internet and a narrow search looking for an Inn that accepted pets - I found the Dor Cors Inn. Much to my delight, Cory and Laura welcomed me and Sami, my yellow lab, a week earlier than they normally opened their doors to guests. As their first Inn guest for the 2012 season, they demonstrated the perfect balance between advising me on hiking trails, restaurants, beaches and points of interest and at the same did not intrude on my private time. My kitchenette was meticulously clean and every detail from a welcoming notecard to availability of DVD movies to a comfortable bed to the smell of cinnamon rolls in the morning was perfectly executed. I have a return trip planned for August and I can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I had heard about Door County for years. We had a couple of friends who vacation there every fall, as well as a friend who spent summers on the Island. For our anniversary this year, we were looking for a place with quiet, natural environs, outdoor activities, great but low-key dinning, history, and a real community of friendly people. We found all this during our stay, and it started with Cory and Laura, owners and operators of the Dor Cros Inn.

Cory and Laura provided us with the best hospitality we have ever experienced on any vacation. From the booking to check out, they made us feel welcomed and genuinely cared for. Prior to our arrival, Cory had taken an island visitor map and identified and color coded sites and things of interest for us to navigate our way around the island. He also included an informational sheet about the various restaurants, pubs, and shops, including information about what forms of payment they would accept, etc. For first time visitors this was a great help. The room was clean and comfortable, and the inn is conveniently located. We are looking forward to a return visit and stay later in the summer or in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I've lost count of exactly how many times I've stayed at the Dor-Cros Inn, but it's definitely our accommodation of choice on Washington Island. Great hospitality, a relaxing atmosphere, and conveniently located only a minute or two from the ferry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Cory and Laura of the Dor Cros Inn were wonderful! They were very good at communicating via e-mail before the stay. Upon check in, they had useful information about the Island and even hand wrote on the map of the Island this information. The little touches were much appreciated~ a welcome note on the bed, bicycles to get around the Island, a fire pit and wood to burn. The rooms were very clean and as decsribed on the website. The kindness and thoroughness of Cory and Laura is one to be matched!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Dor-Cros Inn is more than an "inn," more than a lodging or getaway, and it is more than the cliche "a home away from home." Laura and Cory have made Dor-Cros Inn a sanctuary, a place of discovering the extraordinary amidst the ordinary, a place of peace -- where peace and community are valued and nurtured. They encourage the guests, whom they would call their extended family, to use the communal fire pit, bicycles, movies, picnic tables, and books. They want you to be there, to celebrate friendship, and the beauty of Washington Island, but they do so gently.

We knew nothing of Dor-Cros's existence and decided to stay because of a "break in the weather" and our impromptu saying, "Well, why not take the ferry to Washington Island?" What we regret is that we did not have the time to stay longer. Our hope is that we can return and stay longer, taking advantage of the summer music festivals and the kindness that is so much a part of Washington Island. It seems untouched by the glitzy tourism that has run rampant on the bayside of the county that had been, when I was growing up, a haven for true artists (performing, visual, and writers) living in community with the farmers and natives. I feared returning to Door County, because of what it has become, but Laura and Cory have shown how you can incorporate visitors into a natural environment without making it overpriced pretentiousness. They embody the goodness and community spirit that has been the true heart of Wisconsin. Maybe through Laura and Cory and places like Dor-Cros Inn, more people will come to realize and appreciate what Wisconsin and Door County once was -- a sanctuary, a place to be.

If, however, you are looking for pretentiousness, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymoodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Cute lil spot, nice location, big room with kitchenette, space to have a camp fire and they set you up with everything to do that!!!, movies to borrow, only negative [bathroom could use some updating, but it feels like camping, so that;s ok!], free bikes to use, close to a great coffee shop and pastries in the AM....Clean Air, Green Space, whole Island to explore and they were GREAT hosts. We felt very welcome, like staying with friends. I would recommend this spot and go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chimentic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington Island
15.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
165 reviews
18.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
741 reviews
15.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
65 reviews
21.8 mi away
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
#1 of 10 in Fish Creek
203 reviews
21.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dor Cros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dor Cros Inn

Property: Dor Cros Inn
Address: 1922 Lobdell Point Rd, Washington Island, WI 54246-9208
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Washington Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Washington Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cory & Laura Anders invite you to visit our motel in this secret island paradise in Wisconsin’s Door County. We have a full size cottage or studio cabins. All accommodations have private bathrooms and feature a warm cozy atmosphere. Stop off at the Islands’ local restaurants. Discover our beaches, museums, shops & local entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dor Cros Inn Washington Island, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing