We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Coast Inn & Chalets
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washburn
Menominee, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

A very nice couple own this hotel. They use to work on a cruise ship. I have stayed in the suites. They are very reasonably priced at $79 which includes a refrigerator. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. I only wish the shower had a grab bar and was higher.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
19
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My room was clean and tidy. The comfort was OK for a couple of nights.
Slept very well. The landlords flower nursering was impressive. For his guests
he had fresh coffee in the office every morning. Within 1-5 minutes walk there
are some places where you can get breakfast served.
If I'll be back in Washburn and need a room I'll check in again.


ps. I had the best Frozen Margarita ever in a bar in Washburn ds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here to work on our boat in Bayfield.Only stayed one night but were vety happy with the room.The furniture is old but the beds had comfortable mattresses. The inn keepers,husband and wife made us feel comfortable and they were friendly. Cant beat the price. Rooms are very expensive in Bayfield. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reino66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We enjoy staying at roadside motels and generally find that even if they are not new they are well kept and have character that chain hotels don't. So we took a chance on the North Coast Inn and Chalets. Wrong move. The room was VERY stale and musty smelling - it smelled like the room may have been closed up for months with no ventilation. We opened things up as much as possible and left for hours hoping this would clear up but it was just as dingy and stale smelling when we returned. The sheets and pillows smelled just as bad as the rest of the room so we went to the nearby grocery store to buy some Fabreeze - after using the bottle up, the room was tolerable.
The owners were friendly enough but we didn't find them to be the amazing gems that others have written about here.
With that said, the kitchenette was nice to have and there was a good shower with good water pressure and temp control. Washburn is an interesting little town and a nice point between activities in Ashland and Bayfield.
I'm not sure we'd stay here again given the price for the experience we had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washburn hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The room was absolutely immaculate! It's within walking distance of Lake Superior and everything in downtown Washburn. The pictures on the site don't do justice to the amazing flowers! Be sure to walk around the back to see the stunning flowers spilling out of the old rowboat. There's a small microwave and fridge in the room, but no coffee maker. They do keep a pot of fresh coffee going in the office.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
134 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Too much for this town. Came here to avoid high cost of trendy-touristy Bayfield. Room and bed were clean but it is an older building with lots of construction flaws. TV was tiny and there was no coffee or continental breakfast. I would suggest you stay at the Super 8 for a few dollars more.

Room Tip: Go down the road to the Super 8 and get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimjady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego - CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at North Coast chalet with some friends. I was kindly surprised about the innkeeper welcoming us as we were arriving from California…..She was very pleasant and kind.
We had a room facing the front of the Motel. It was a good size clean room that did satisfy our needs, but my friend that did stay there for a week booked a room with the kitchenette. His room was not new but cozy and overlook the lake plus had the convenience of the kitchenette.
We asked if was possible to be moved in one of these rooms but the innkeeper told us that at that time they were sold out….
I don’t know when and if I go back to Washburn, but if I have the chance to go back again this is the place I would stay, possibly soon they will update the kitchenette rooms as I believe are the best choice even for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washburn
5.5 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
164 reviews
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
56 reviews
10.2 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Inn & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Inn & Chalets

Property: North Coast Inn & Chalets
Address: 26 W Bayfield St, Washburn, WI 54891-1130
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Washburn
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nautical themed 18 unit motel and chalets with kitchenettes. Within walking distance to fishing piers, marinas, coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, museum, specialty shops, bistro, walking trail and theater. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing