We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, friendly, convenient”
Review of Hickory Hill Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Viroqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hickory Hill Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Viroqua B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfy, friendly, convenient”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have a special aficion for this type of motel -- so, full disclosure, it's not for everyone, but what is? The best attributes of this place are: 1. price value. 2. you drive right up to your room and park. so convenient for the business traveler, or for someone vacationing with kids, pets, or a 3-4 day stay. 3. friendly, personal service from owner-managers. 4. everything works (wifi, sink, &tc.) 5. clean and quiet. I value that.

Now, not everything is brand-spanking new, you're not right downtown, and so on. If you want to pay a lot more for a room, there are other places. For me, this was the best deal, especially considering the other guests were quiet and reasonable.... I've stayed at places double and triple the price that were totally modern, but you risk being next to "the party animals" or the people up until 3 or 4 in the morning... and management's solution is to ask you to lug all your stuff to another room.

A solid bargain, just right for me -- if this is the kind of place you like.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alba
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I read the reviews and felt this motel would suit our needs for a one night stay while visiting Wisconsin. The motel is older, no frills, however the bed was great and we really didn't need more than the basics. The owners are very pleasant and work hard to keep it very clean and attractive. The location is on the major road, but I never heard any traffic at all.

Room Tip: Looked like there is a newer section of the motel, might ask for that next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This motel is older but still nice. It is clean and roomy and the caretakers were freindly and helped us with all our needs. The shower had a nice shower head with gentle flow, great water pressure AND the water got nice and hot. Not wimpy water flow like at some hotels have.
The continental breakfast is the old fashioned one. Coffee, Juice and a danish (not from a bakery, but prepackaged from a store). Overall, we felt the motel was a great value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quiltfrogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is what I call an old-time motel - the kind that has a storm door with a screen and lots of light, and has windows on both sides of the building for a cross breeze, and all the rooms are on the first floor. The bathroom is big (also with a window), the room was moderate size, and the location is outside of town, so nice and quiet. The bed was comfortable, but pillows are hard, so bring your own if you need softer. Rooms are pet-friendly, and they have four beautiful acres to walk and exercise you or your pet. The breakfast items are coffee, store-bought buns/breakfast bars, and some juice. Just enough for light eaters. Pool was closed already, but looked nice. Get a room on the back side of the main motel, for the best buffer from the highway.

There is no fitness center - sorry, I couldn't edit that rating when I accidentally touched it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the back side for the most quiet. They also will cool off fastest in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dcdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAN HORNE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this property and found it to be clean and comfortable. The rates were great. The only thing missing was a coffee pot in the room, waiting till 7am for the office to open to get coffee was the only inconvenience, but not enough to prevent us from going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Over40andoutforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a great place to stay! We had a family wedding at a local winery,and had never been to the area. We were so pleased with the hotel and area we are planning a trip back next summer. The owners are so friendly, we feel they are like family now. Everything at the hotel was perfect! We can't wait to come back! I would recommend this to anyone! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and what a great value! My son sure used the pool a lot and it was so clean! We travel a lot and this was an excellent motel with a value that can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stay at the Hickory Hill motel whenever I am in SW Wisconsin fishing. It is a great motel with a friendly staff. And, as always, it is a very economical. The rooms are spacious and clean. The refrigerator and microwave are in good working order and the free coffee, juice and rolls are a welcome treat in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmckiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viroqua
7.6 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
17 reviews
22.3 mi away
Justin Trails Resort
Justin Trails Resort
#1 of 5 in Sparta
129 reviews
8.6 mi away
Westby House Inn
Westby House Inn
#1 of 1 in Westby
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#1 of 2 in Viroqua
31 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Hill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Hill Motel

Property: Hickory Hill Motel
Address: S5539 US Highway 14, Viroqua, WI 54665-8604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Viroqua
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Viroqua
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stopped in while traveling in western Wisconsin,trout fishing,hunting,Vernon bike trails, and was amazed by the amenities and price. Free continental breakfast(coffee,orange juice,tea and Swedish rolls),outdoor heated pool (from Memorial day thru Labor day), picnic table outdoor seating area, cable TV over 65 channels and HBO,LCD 32in and 39in flat TV, wireless internet, and very clean. Two queen beds for $68.00(TWO ADULTS) one queen bad $58.00(two adults) king size bad $65.00 summer rates. four rooms are pet friendly,price per pet/per day $10.00. Wonderful! have a great day! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing