We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hickory Hill Motel
Nearby Hotels
Midway Motel(Viroqua)(Great Value!)
$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Towne Motel(Westby)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welch Motel(La Crosse)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
20
9
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
9
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasant staystayed heretrout fishingmotelcoffeetowndressercowscleanlinessamenitiesfridgewi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 39 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hickory Hill in late September for 3 days just to drive around SW WI. The room was clean, adequate, good wifi, TV, plenty of hot water, and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We liked the family atmosphere and a bit of the "country" feeling being on the outskirts of town. We will return.

Room Tip: There is a section of rooms separate from main building that we stayed in and was very nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PMJEastTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Motel this past weekend. We come up several times a year, and just love the place. You can't beat the price, inground pool is a bonus, always clean and comfortable. We have been staying here for the past 14 years when we come to the the area. Always a very relaxing time and great stay. Looking forward to next trip, coming back in a few weeks for final weekend of Trout fishing season.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have read reviews that are complementry to this property, but I was very disappointed. The price may have been cheap, but we would have certainly paid more for a better room. Our room was not clean, much dust under the bed, dark patches along the seams of the shower stall that appeared to be mold, and a disagreeable odor in the room. There were no plug-ins in the bathroom or anywhere close to a mirror. There was no hair dryer. The bedspread was worn and needed a cleaning. I have read about a continental breakfast, but none was offered at check in and I didn't see it. The people there were very friendly and nice. Maybe they have better rooms in a different area of the motel. There must be better places to stay in the Viroqua area.

Room Tip: Please ask to see your room before you check in.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JLR410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here this past summer, the night before we closed on some property we bought in the area. I've been meaning to write a review, because I was immediately struck - and pleasantly surprised - by how CLEAN the room was. Seriously, our room smelled like crisp, clean laundry. So did the sheets. The place was spotless.
That being said, the motel is a bit dated and worn at the edges - the decor could use some updating. Also, the room itself is no-frills - just two double beds with obviously lower thread-count sheets (but CLEAN!) a small 19 in tv and small fridge. If you're staying in Viroqua, however, you're not there for the luxe accomodations, but to hit the bike trails or trout streams.
The outside of the motel is also very clean and well-kept. We didn't swim in the pool but it looked nice and clean and inviting. I did see the manager cleaning it in the morning. We met him and he told us he and his wife manage the place. Very friendly, pleasant guy.

Coffee was made before 6 am in the office and there were some pre-packaged pastries for breakfast. An improvement would be to have coffeemakers in the rooms.

There's a very nice shady lawn out front with a few picnic tables for the guests.
Also, it is dog-friendly.

I would definitely stay here again if I had to, and i would definitely recommend this place to anyone i knew.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bianca66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This motel is not part of a mega-chain. It has a pool, continental breakfast, free wireless internet, picnic area, cable TV, and very comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy, but the price is fantastic. $55 for two queen beds. Air conditioner worker quietly, as well. Our room had a shower - no tub. It is one story, set back from a two lane country highway, three miles south of Viroqua, Wisconsin, so there is minimal noise. It is set back from the road, overlooking a valley. There are rooms along the back that look out on pasture and trees. Great!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank OaklanderCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews