We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place for a getaway vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Viroqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viroqua Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Viroqua B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful place for a getaway vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Viroqua Heritage Inn (Eckhardt House) during our honeymoon, and we had a delightful time! The building is a quirky old house, painted in bright colors inside and out. Our room was delightfully decorated in Victorian style, very spacious, with a wonderfully comfortable bed, spacious and well-equipped bathroom, large dresser and large recent-model TV. This is a family-owned business, and the staff was attentive to our needs and very friendly.

The Viroqua food co-op is right down the street, and we bought chocolate and strawberries for late-night snacking. Later that night, we drove a few miles out of town to watch the stars together from the edge of a field. Marvellous!!!

I recommend this establishment unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orono, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Eckhardt House Bed and Breakfast which is one of two homes that are part of the Heritage Inn. We stayed 3 nights at this lovely inn, and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The Inn is decorated in the vintage style of the era of the home. Our bedroom had a very comfortable bed and full bath,television, and WiFi. Our hostess, Nancy, was wonderfully attentive, and a great cook. The morning breakfasts were plentiful, and kept us full until dinner! Veroqua itself is an interesting town. Small, but friendly, and with Nancy's help, we found plenty to do in the area. We hope to return again someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is the first B&B we've stayed in and it was wonderful. Nice neighborhood, the Eckhardt House is a wonderful 1897 Tudor that is decorated appropriately with very interesting furnishings. There is a common area, a coffee room and the sleeping room was equipped with a tv and all the towels and extras we needed. The innkeeper was very gracious and an excellent cook. We got a gourmet breakfast. Everything was clean and comfortable. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, NE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I always try to find B&B's to stay at when we travel. Most are above average and are a pleasant experience. Once in a while you run into a disappointment. And then there are the times you are fortunate enough to find that exceptional B&B, one that is above and beyond any expectations you might have.
The Heritage Inn B&B in Viroqua is that rare and exceptional B&B. Nancy, the Innkeeper is attentive to your every need and strives to offer a memorable experience. The house is maintained perfectly, the rooms clean, comfy and elegant all at the same time. The grounds are nicely landscaped and tended. Breakfasts were above par... simply delicious. This is on our list of Inns we 'must' return to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metaldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Seven members of our family stayed at this B&B. We stayed in the Eckhart House. All the rooms we had were spacious and clean and decorated in the Victorian era style. The common area was large enough to comfortably accommodate all of us. The coffee/drinks room was unique and used by all. Nancy, the innkeeper, was friendly and served a great breakfast of huevos rancheros (we're were mostly from the southwest) and we were impressed by the quality and quantity of breakfast that also included fresh fruit. Our room (Charlotte's Room) had a bed so tall a small stool was necessary to get in and out of it and it was very comfortable. We all enjoyed the Inn and should we get back to that area would stay there again.

Room Tip: The Charlotte Room is excellent for anyone wanting quiet and great period decor. The air conditione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this B & B. (Heritage B & B's are really 2 houses. We were in the Eckhart House). The innkeeper knew we were coming to Vernon County to work on a genealogy project and she had several historical books and a plat book ready for us to read. We loved the neighborhood and learning about Viroqua. The breakfast was wonderful and filling. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wininmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

This B and B was clean and the innkeeper was extremely friendly and helpful. Even though our room was small, it had everything that we needed and we didn't even mind walking across the hall to use our private bathroom. Not the most luxurious, but definitely a relaxing and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meganhealy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viroqua
6.0 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
7.0 mi away
Westby House Inn
Westby House Inn
#1 of 1 in Westby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
20.7 mi away
Justin Trails Resort
Justin Trails Resort
#1 of 5 in Sparta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viroqua Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viroqua Heritage Inn

Property: Viroqua Heritage Inn
Address: 220 & 217 East Jefferson Street, Viroqua, WI 54665
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Viroqua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Viroqua
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing