We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ecology” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Beach State Forest

Point Beach State Forest
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Two Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ecology”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited on a great warm fall afternoon; the sand was warm between our toes, the breeze kept us from getting too hot, and the woods let us enjoy more than just sand, wind and waves. The lighthouse was also a very picturesque stop along the way. I'd love to come back in the summer to camp and hike.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank liteon163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love The Campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This campground is well thought out and an enjoyable place to stay. Level sites (crushed gravel) made set-up a breeze. The sites were large and reasonably easy to manuver into. The bath houses were clean and inviting. The camp host was friendly. The check-in attendant was funny and a pleasure to work with.

We will stay here again, but I'm not going to give away any secrets on which are the best sites.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RJSJCSCamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Point Beach State Forest Campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We camped here for the first time in Aug. 2013 for 3 nights. The campground is right on Lake Michigan and has 6 miles of beach. The beach was beautiful and good for swimming. The campsites were nice and shady. We would stay here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very relaxing camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Camped for 2 nights in tent section, very quiet, no critter problems. Enormous beautiful beach.
Given the amount of staff (friendly folks) they could check the shower room a bit more often and give it a sweep. Wear flip flops in there as there was a lot of sand and hairs on the floor. At least the showers are free anyway.
The town is only 4 miles away, very convenient.
Firewood - buy it for$3 outside camp or $4 in park. I found where they pile dead trees near the beach and used that for free. Bring a saw or axe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theobserverWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice beach to sit and listen to the waves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

At times there are little dead fish (alewives?), which are unpleasant. But in general a great park to bike and walk the beach

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyIreland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Beach State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Point Beach State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing