We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Point Beach”

Point Beach State Forest
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Two Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Point Beach”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Point Beach is one of my favorite camping state parks. As the picture shows, there is a lot of beach and an area where one can bring their pet swimming or walking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4Scoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenleaf, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worthy of an annual visit”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is the park we use for a mini family reunion each year. Wonderful sand beaches for the kids (and kids at heart), nice trails for biking and walking (though bug spray is a must if walking beyond the campground area) and good sized camp sites. This is the only state park/forest that I'm aware of that has water hook ups on some of the sites, so added bonus to look out for. (Not all the sites have it, so look for it.)

Some of the sites on the main loop as you are first coming in can be a little tricky to get a larger camper into since at one time the road went the other way, so the campsite angle isn't always your friend. We've always been successful getting in, but it can involve some manuvering.

A lot of the bathroom facilities are newer and even the older ones are kept very clean, even on the busy weekends.

Keep an eye out for scheduled activities, especially for kids, at some point on the weekend. Also, kids can complete an activity book and earn a patch. (Pick up at the ranger station, and would also apply to any other state park.) Always gives the kids a little direction on being entertained. Not a whole lot to the nature center, but worth a stop and can grab an ice cream cone or beverage from the snack bar nearby while you're at it.

Because of it's location, it's almost always cooler at the park than the rest of the state, so was an especially good spot during July this year!

Note - weekends and even week days book early. We made our reservations 11 months out for next year already and the sites were going fast the first morning our sites were available!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WIatHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a bike ride.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Although it was hot the day we rode, the trees in the forest helped shade us from the relentless ride. The only disappointment were the flies who didn't bother us on the ride itself but when we stopped, oh boy. Awesome trails and would certainly recommend if you are in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MIlwaukeePlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Scenic”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We drove through the park and picked out future camp sites to reserve for our upcoming trip. The park is awesome. They have what seems like miles of beach. We spent some time relaxing on the beach. We are looking forward to camping there soon!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mesagrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Camping”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location, things to do. Careful for the beach, it is sometimes closed thanks to Milwaukee not getting their "crap" together.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pistolpetek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Beach State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Point Beach State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing