We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Connie's Diner

Connie's Diner
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Two Rivers
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The price is very reasonable and the taste is great. I would skip the rye bread it is a swirl style. The place is a little 50 ish and newly redone so cute. I

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NonaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delish.....Best food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Connies Diner is hands down the best restaurant in town.Food is great.Mini burgers- french fries and gravy - chicken sandwich- soups and so much more.Did a great job on the remodel, the place looks great. Connie's been working there for years and the food didnt change when she took it over.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyweinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Why fix what aint broke?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've been coming to what used to be Phil Rohrer's for 35 years since I was a baby, and it was a special place for us to stop on our way to Door County. We always thought PR's was a cute, quaint place that was packed history. PR was a Two Rivers classic--a relic of a bygone era.

If it were me buying that place, I would have left the original sign up, left the interior the way it was and just tidy the kitchen up and bit and leave the rest the same. The one improvement that did make sense was to re-do the bathrooms from scratch. Should have kept the name--pay Phil a few extra bucks to buy the naming rights.

The food was mediocre / average. Not sure we'll be hurrying back anytime soon...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and cozy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I came here for lunch to escape the rain while on a camping trip. The food is typical diner fare and not particularly amazing, but for the price it's a great deal! We got a tuna melt (on marbled rye), a bowl of chili, onion rings and 2 drinks for less than $15! It's a very small establishment but very cozy (decorated in a cute 50s style theme) and clearly popular with the locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennirose00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbush, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Connie's Diner in Two Rivers, a real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Located on Hwy 42, near downtown Two Rivers, this tiny restaurant serves great burger and soup type fare. Recently remodeled in a 50's motif, the bright colors seem to make this little cafe larger. This place had been around forever. Most know it as Phil Rohrer's, which has been in business since 1964. It was recently purchased by his assistant, Connie, hence Connie's Diner.

The Good: My most recent visit was a family type lunch affair, where a large portion of the menu was sampled. The hand-breaded perch was to die for. Excellent sides include potato salad, fry’s, raw fries, cole-slaw and others. My bowl of pea soup was also excellent. My father-in-law's vegetable beef soup looked yummy, but he wanted it for himself. The burgers are wonderful, cost $3.25 and worth every penny. This coming from a burger guy.

The Bad: This isn't a fancy place for foo-foo dining. It's a "salt of the earth" place where you get excellent food at good prices. And the place gets very busy.

I know it sounds like I own it (I don’t), but you can't miss at this place. Open Mo-Sat 10:30am- 8 pm

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connie's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Connie's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing