We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally politive experience!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turtle Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Road Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Turtle Lake B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shell Lake, WI
1 review
“Totally politive experience!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2009

As world travelers and airline crew members we have stayed at hundreds of hotels and dozens of B&Bs in the course of our careers and as vacationers. Because of our many experiences we feel we can honestly rate the Canyon Road Inn with a keen knowledge of the hotel and Inn industry.

We live within an hour of this Inn and on a whim I (the Mrs.) chose to take my birthday-boy husband to a B&B for a surprise romantic get-away. We were both extremely surprised and delighted by what we found there, a cozy and homey atmosphere created by a friendly and loving couple. We enjoyed our surroundings and digs very much but we were also taken with the Inn couple (Judy and Ken) who work so well together and have an obvious mutual love and respect for one another.

All that aside, the rooms are amazing!! We have never seen anyone pay attention to detail the way they do at the Canyon Road Inn. We loved the fireplace, the Jacuzzi tub....well we loved everything about the room we were in (the railroad room) as well as the other common guest areas of the house. The breakfast was to die for!! Such interesting and healthy choices, lots and lots of choices.

We were there in February which was a time spent cozying up to the fireplace with a glass of wine and a few hands of cribbage, but we would like to have another stay in the summer or fall to take advantage of the lake and hiking trails.

Thank you Judy and Ken!! We’ll see you again!

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank happycampers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2009

My husband and I truly enjoyed the stay at Canyon Road Inn
B&B. This was our second stay in celebration of our wedding
anniversay--This is such a great place to spend time alone
with beautiful scenery and people like Ken and Judy who
are so very sweet and friendly. With all the comforts one could
ask for and fun decor in the room! Almost wished we could have stayed longer!!

We will be back!

Thanks Judy and Ken for making our visit special!
Judy we LOVE your cooking!!


Fran and Linda Conrad

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinGrandmaX6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2009

This was our second time staying here and it won't be our last. Everything about our stay was exceptional, from the friendly atmosphere to the wonderful breakfast they served. Great place for a romantic getaway

  • Liked — friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Prohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We have been to the Canyon Road Inn three times for a total of 5 nights, most recently the first weekend in February and twice in 2008. Last year we were there in August for my wife's birthday and in September for our 29th Anniversary. She LOVES frogs and was very pleased to say the least when she found out we were staying in "The Lily Pad Room". The rooms are just beautiful and comfortable each with a private bath, hot tub and a fireplace. A lovely view of Skinaway Lake that this B&B is located on was just outside of our patio door. We walked the trails through the woods surrounding this Inn, enjoying nature and the beautiful autumn colors. We spent hours out on the lake using a canoe and paddleboat that they provide. This February in addition to just enjoying our room, we visited a couple of close by antique stores and the St. Croix Casino located just 1 mile away. The owners Ken & Judy couldn't be nicer! We have spent lots of time just visiting with them, sharing stories and showing pictures of animals and trips that we each have taken. The breakfasts they serve are always delicious (we always want the recipes) and are a great chance to meet and visit with the other guests. This is our favorite home away from home and we couldn't recommend it any more, you'll LOVE it!

  • Liked — location & view, lovely & comfortable rooms, friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Froggie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2009

This is a lovely, serene, well maintained B&B with gorgeous surroundings nestled in the woods overlooking a small lake in Wisconsin. The host and hostess (JUdy and Ken) are so welcoming and make your stay so warm and inviting. The breakfasts are fantastic. We are return visitors and will go back again. There are many antique shops in towns nearby, a wonderful dinner club called the 5 o'clock club in Cumberland where the food is the best!! If you like gambling, the casino in Turtle Lake is very close. The rooms at the B&B are all decorated so nice and there is a jacuzzi in every room, and king size beds...Very comfortable, warm and inviting. We give this B&B an A+++

  • Liked — comfort, cleanliness, friendly hosts, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Quilt4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

We previously stayed at the Cable Nature Lodge somewhat north of here, but it was booked the night we wanted to take our vacation. Canyon Road was amazing. We had a huge tastefully decorated room; king sized bed; free wireless (I had to do some work); sliding glass door to a patio, lawn, and the lake; gas fireplace; soaking tub in the room (not the bathroom); full private bath; and to top it off Ken and Judy make a fabulous breakfast. We arrived Friday evening, borrowed snowshoes to wander around the property (trails on 20 acres), took Judy's advice for dinner (we went to the steak place, but apparently the 5 O'Clock club is even better), soaked in the tub, used the communal kitchen for hot chocolate and wine glasses, and relaxed! We didn't have time to sit around in the living room, but there's plenty of space to relax outside your room too. I highly recommend this as a getaway from Minneapolis or Eau Claire areas, even just for a night since it only takes 1.5 hours to get there.

  • Liked — Comfortable and relaxing with everything we wanted
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rachelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

For the last few years my wife and I have been going to Turtle Lake Casio for the New Years party and had always stayed at a different hotel. To make a long story short the other hotel mysteriously lost our reservation that had been made months earlier.

We had a stroke of luck as The Canyon Road Inn had a last minute cancellation and had one vacant room. We were pleasantly surprised from the beginning at how friendly the woman that met us was. Once we got our room we could not get over how nice it was.

Our room was large, clean, had a whirlpool, overlooked the lake, its own private deck, its own fireplace, and the casino shuttle picked us up at the front door. This was all for 1/2 the price we were going to pay at the other hotel.

I had never done a b&b before and did not know what to expect but I can say I would certainly recommend this place without any reservations to anyone.

We will be back next year if not sooner!

  • Liked — Our room was beautiful.
  • Disliked — Our room did not have a TV
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iqdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turtle Lake
10.8 mi away
Cumberland Inn & Suites
Cumberland Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Cumberland
68 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Barron
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Valley
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Va...
#1 of 2 in Saint Croix Falls
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
329 reviews
20.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Road Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Road Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Canyon Road Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 575 W Town Line Rd, Turtle Lake, WI 54889-9073
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Turtle Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Turtle Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B & B getaway. Six themed guestrooms feature: fireplace/AC, whirlpools, k-beds, private baths, robes and lakeside deck/patio views. Quiet, trails, gazebo, lake, complimentary canoes or paddleboats. Delicious full breakfasts plus snack area with refrig., Microwave, icemaker. Casino, antiques & other shops nearby, plus many more fun & interesting things to see and do in NW Wisconsin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing