We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel needs lots of upgrades!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turtle Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Croix Casino & Hotel Turtle Lake
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turtle Lake
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This hotel needs lots of upgrades!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stay at St. Croix Hotel in Turtle Lake quite often.
We find the rooms always very clean and comfortable.
What we would like to see is some improvements with lots of things.
First off the toilets are so low to the floor it is very difficult to get either up or down.
The flooring in the bathroom is extremely slippery even when it is dry.
Very dangerous!!!!!
Please get some new flooring and higher toilets!!!

Thank You

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandicooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    36
    25
    16
See reviews for
29
40
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, MN
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It would appear the owners are putting no money into the hotel. Laminate wood "furniture" - with a-desk drawer that won't close - and a desk chair that belongs in a VFW hall, should have been our first clue. Walls have been repainted, right over the chair dents, but ceiling paint can't hide the mold on the bathroom ceiling from the leaking water from the room above. Linoleum on the bathroom floor is curling at the tub where a half-inch of caulk has been smeared. Ditto around the toilet bowl.

Poor, small TV, poor carpet, not even a security lock on the door! Unprofessional front desk folks too. Clean enough, so at least housekeeping is trying, even if management isn't. And it is cheap!

Ironically, best night's sleep in five nights on the road. But was noisy above and below us, and I would not want to be here on a weekend.

Went to the nearby Casino for supper - the Buffet was "adequate" but not worth the money. Extremely smoky casino, and even the dining area was all smoking. Not much of a problem in the dining area, since we were two of only six folks eating there at 6:30 on a Monday night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MNtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turtle Lake hotels

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The price was the only thing that was right about this place. The room was clean enough though it felt damp and smelled a bit moldy. The sink was outside of the bathroom which was kind of a headache since it was a double room shared by three so if you went to the bathroom in the middle of the night and wanted to wash your hands, you risked waking everyone else up. The kids enjoyed the pool but we really couldn't sit in the pool room for more than 30 minutes because there was so much chlorine in the water that it made our eyes water. The worst part about our stay was how noisy it was. Not only did we have a loud, drunken women wandering the hallway, making noise in the middle of the night but our other family members, staying on another floor, had noisy, smokers outside their windows until very late at night. We weren't the only ones with noise complaints either. When we were lining up to check out, the man in front of us was complaining about how noisy it had been outside his room. The staff seemed unconcerned and unapologetic, pretty much the way they'd been our whole stay. So, the bottom line is that if you don't care about service and can sleep through anything, this place is fine. If you'd like at least one worker to greet you and seem happy to have you there, can't tolerate noise at all hours and want to swim without being chlorinated this place isn't for you. As an aside, the casino reeks of cigarettes, even the supposed non-smoking side of it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, away from the elevator and exits. Ask for a non-smoking room if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank meme y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here last minute due to getting hit with a snow/ice storm. The rate was very reasonable. There was a shuttle to the casino every 10 min. or so. The room was ok...a bit dated but clean enough and I slept very well. The bathroom was pretty small, but the sink was outside of the bathroom so that helped. The free breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabondmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is about a block from the casino but they have a nice shuttle bus that runs every few minutes. We stayed in a regular room that was clean but simple. Friends of ours had a suite that was fantastic. The breakfast was ok but nothing special. The best part of this hotel is the great price if you have a casino card. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karren03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on may 23rd overnight. First impression was awful. Building is in shambles. Dirty carpet, bad smell, torn wall paper, crowded dirty lobby. When we checked in we were asked for our license plate number and vehicle make and model. We were not told this over the phone so we held up the queue for 5 minutes to run back out to the car. I feel we should have been told that over the phone. Once in our room, different story. We stayed in a suite. May as well as it costs not much more than a normal room. Very impressed. Huge, clean, open. Plenty of space. 1 half bath, 1 full bath (huge) with jacuzzi bath. Living room space, 2 42" LCD flat panel tvs, wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, plenty of closet space. We don't stay in hotels outside of international travel so I didn't know what to expect. I must say I was surprised, impressed. Don't let the outside appearance sway you. Grit your teeth during check in and get to your suite, worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawnit2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my second business stay at the Turtle Lake Hotel. Based on the bedding and carpet, rooms not updated recently. This is nothing fancy, but it meets your needs of a very inexpensive hotel and free hot breakfast. Access to coffee and juice is available at all times. The Pioneer Press paper delivered to your front door is also included. Hotel includes workout room, pool, and sauna, which I have not used.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the back of the complex, even numbered rooms overlook the parking lot and Hw...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turtle Lake
14.2 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Barron
11.2 mi away
Cumberland Inn & Suites
Cumberland Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Cumberland
72 reviews
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Valley
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Va...
#1 of 2 in Saint Croix Falls
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
346 reviews
20.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
22.2 mi away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 8 in Rice Lake
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Croix Casino & Hotel Turtle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Croix Casino & Hotel Turtle Lake

Property: St. Croix Casino & Hotel Turtle Lake
Address: 777 Highway 8/63, Turtle Lake, WI 54889
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Turtle Lake
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turtle Lake
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got everyone's favorite games. Whether you try your luck on slots, blackjack, roulette, craps, or live poker, you're always a winner at St. Croix Casino Turtle Lake.Each of our standard rooms and suites offers in-room coffee, a blow dryer, an iron and ironing board, free HBO and free local calls. We also offer a free continental breakfast every morning of your stay and 24-hour shuttle service between the hotel and the casino. And, of course, all hotel guests are invited to enjoy our deluxe pool, whirlpool and exercise room. The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi. For a special getaway, book one of our luxurious suites. Our four themed suites - the Woodland, Asian, Polynesian and Egyptian - and our four unthemed suites are all outfitted with their own Jacuzzis plus an in-room coffeemaker, microwave and refrigerator. Planning a party, banquet, trade show, convention, anniversary, luncheon, conference or holiday party? Book your event at the St. Croix Casino Turtle Lake. Offers may include group hotel discounts along with complete event planning, bus transportation and catering. We can accommodate groups from 35 to 300. We can also arrange for day-trip special bus runs for groups of 20 or more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Croix Casino And Hotel
St. Croix Hotel Turtle Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing