We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Croix Casino Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turtle Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Croix Casino & Hotel Turtle Lake
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turtle Lake
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I guess its what you would expect from a small town Indian casino. The rooms are not spectacular but they are reasonably clean and very reasonable ($40+ with a players card). I'll give them this, they are finally remodeling the place. My room was freshly painted and carpeted and they finally installed flat panel TV's, very small but better that the old televisions that they had before. The room was very clean with the exception of a chair that I pulled out from the table, it was loaded with crumbs. If you are in the area it's worth it to give it a try.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillie_the_Turtle, Digital Media Marketing Coordinator at St. Croix Casino & Hotel Turtle Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to complete a review Kurt. Management and staff have been working hard to revamp St. Croix Casino Hotel with brand new beds, carpet, TVs, etc. I have forwarded your comments to Hotel Management. The St. Croix Casinos will only improve as we gather feedback from loyal guests such as you. Again, thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I like to gamble and since our Anniversary was in the middle of the week, we decided to go to Wisconsin just for one night to get away and he could play craps. Turtle Lake was the nearest hotel to the Twin Cities that had craps, so we decided to spend the night. We have stayed here once before and found the rooms clean, and since it was our Anniversary, I asked for a suite. It was HUGE with two bathrooms, and an awesome whirlpool tub! Did find the same thing we had last time we were there (on a weekend) the staff just can't seem to keep up with the crowd at breakfast. Also found as last time that slots were not generous. We have much better luck heading down to Iowa, so we will probably not be back to this area, but if you need a place to stay in the area, it is a good price with the player's card.

Room Tip: If you have a group and what to congregate in one room, a suite is great with the table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnes0taSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Clean room, with out dated furniture...but it looks like the are doing a remodel, as they had a construction crew on site each morning at 8am.

Most rooms are 2 queen beds with a small table with two chairs. Iron, board, coffee maker and blow dryer are included in the room. Outside vanity from the toilet and tub-shower. Flat screen tv with decent cable that includes some movie channels (Showtime)

Rack rate is about $75 per night over the weekend. They do offer a 10% discount for AARP members...but the best deal is a 20% discount if you have a players card from the casino that is down the street. If you don't mind giving the casino some personal information (you will need to show them your drivers license) your room rate goes down to about $60 a night.

Didn't see or try their "free" breakfast as I heard that the restaurant down the street has awesome food (Frontier Restaurant)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TKSMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Whether or not you gamble at the nearby casdino - stay at the hotel. The room rates are very competetive and for a huge discount, before checking in, go into the casino and obtain a free "players card". The rooms are very clean (most with 2 queen beds) and all the beds have been replaced and are all brand new. There is free juice, coffee and soft drinks in the lobby 24/7. In the morning you are given a free local newspaper and breakfast that is much more than the usual "Continental Breakfast". There is a free shuttle bus to and from the Casino where you can gamble, people watch and/or take advantage of the great food deals at the casino restaurants (2) or snack bar. Room reservations are advised and on weekends they are almost a necessity. "Great Place to Stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonByle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I live 45 minutes away from St. Croix Hotel/Casino and have spent a good amount of time gambling there. I've won very little. The seafood buffet (Thursday nights) is good, but if you load up on crab legs you will half-starve yourself cracking them open. I was under the impression that KING crab was on the menu, NOT the snow crab that is offered.

The casino slots are mostly outdated, and good luck to you trying to find an open machine on a weekend night. WHEN you do find one, plan on playing for awhile before getting up and walking around for 15 minutes to get to your next open slot.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bloom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

It's kind of off the beaten path but only an hour I believe from the Twin Cities. We go to see "The Turtle" 3 or 4 times a year. The casino has fun games but not the best payout. The hotel is nice but you have to walk or drive across the parking lot to get to it. They do have shuttles to take you and I would advise to use them. It is dark in the area where you have to walk. The buffet in the casino was really good. We did the brunch and had no complaints. I would advise to get a players card when you get there. You will get a discount on your hotel room and free play. It's a fun place to gamble, just don't expect to win millions :)

Room Tip: Call way ahead. They book extremley fast on the weekend since it's not that big and get a playe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our room was one of their suites, very cute room!! Wonder dining table, microwave & small fridge. Bathroom was beautiful with GREAT jacuzzi tub and glass shower!! However the furniture did appear to have some wear.

Front desk help was marginal at best....asked for extra towels and they wouldn't deliver them to the room even though the had over 3 front desk employees and laundry staff on hand that I saw (I had migraine that I was trying to get rid of).

As long as you expect that this is s small town environment and casino with all its quirks, you will enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turtle Lake
19.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
22.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Valley
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Va...
#1 of 2 in Saint Croix Falls
149 reviews
20.5 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Barron
Show Prices

Been to St. Croix Casino & Hotel Turtle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Croix Casino & Hotel Turtle Lake

Address: 777 Highway 8/63, Turtle Lake, WI 54889
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Turtle Lake
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turtle Lake
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got everyone's favorite games. Whether you try your luck on slots, blackjack, roulette, craps, or live poker, you're always a winner at St. Croix Casino Turtle Lake.Each of our standard rooms and suites offers in-room coffee, a blow dryer, an iron and ironing board, free HBO and free local calls. We also offer a free continental breakfast every morning of your stay and 24-hour shuttle service between the hotel and the casino. And, of course, all hotel guests are invited to enjoy our deluxe pool, whirlpool and exercise room. The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi. For a special getaway, book one of our luxurious suites. Our four themed suites - the Woodland, Asian, Polynesian and Egyptian - and our four unthemed suites are all outfitted with their own Jacuzzis plus an in-room coffeemaker, microwave and refrigerator. Planning a party, banquet, trade show, convention, anniversary, luncheon, conference or holiday party? Book your event at the St. Croix Casino Turtle Lake. Offers may include group hotel discounts along with complete event planning, bus transportation and catering. We can accommodate groups from 35 to 300. We can also arrange for day-trip special bus runs for groups of 20 or more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Croix Casino And Hotel
St. Croix Hotel Turtle Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing