We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite summer weekend!”
Review of Trempealeau Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trempealeau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trempealeau Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trempealeau
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I love Trempealeau & the hotel is one of the highlights of this cool little town. We are big live music fans and Trempealeau hotel is an awesome outdoor venue with a beautiful view. Great fun food and accomodations. Can't wait for our next visit.!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

U don't find a room in February for catfish weekend after your told in September you have a room. Poor business decisions by new owners.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Trempealeau hotel and its staff takes you back to an Americian past time that once you experience it you have to return. Those stressful days of our lifes and no escaping from technology just seem dissappear south with the water on the Mississippi.
We love this place and everyone we take along with us loves the place !!!!

Room Tip: When travelling with my motorcycle mates we take the rooms upstairs in the hotel , when with family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked a room for 4. Received a phone call saying they gave our room away and can no longer accommodate us. Now we have a plane ticket with no place to stay. Apparently reservations mean nothing to the new owners.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank mechdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyWcuatthehotel, Owner at Trempealeau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding here and I am sorry for that. We continue to manage rooms for special events in the way it has been done for the past twenty or so years. Guests who had the room previously for these events are called once we re-open in the winter. Everyone from the previous year decided to re-reseve for Catfish Days (July 11-13, 2014) with the exception of only one cancelation for a room upstairs. You were at the top of our "wait list" which noted that you desired one of the King Fisher rooms. I rang to let you know that was not available, but that we did have a cancellation upstairs. When you returned my call you said this room would not work, so I walked you through the various options in town providing you with names and phone numbers of more than five other options. I will continue to try to help you find another place to stay if you did not have luck with those we discussed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in a "cottage" on the grounds--clean, with nice amenities. Not fancy, but we are plain folk who don't like fancy. Only complaint is noisy heater. Wonderful surroundings with trains along the river, barges on the Mississippi. The restaurant is fantastic with novel, creative foods with delicious sauces. A great destination with real charm. Plan on returning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hjg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went to Trempleau the last 2 years with my older boys for a weekend away from the Chgo area. Always a good time listening to music in the historic bar. Great food and unique place that we really enjoy. Music fest this year was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Reviewed September 3, 2013


On a hot summer night, this was a cool place to stay for the night. As we arrived late, we didn't have dinner but were served a blue/razberry galette with ice cream out on the deck as the live music played.
Our room was tiny with no air conditioning, but had 2 windows for cross ventilation, with a lovely view of the river and the lock and dam. The bathroom was down the hall and shared with other guests, but that was not a problem. There was a sitting area with games and books to read.
We rather liked feeling like we were participating in a hotel stay of more than 100 years ago. The only thing missing was sleep: with the tracks so close to the side of the hotel we stayed on, and countless trains during the night, I would title this review: $44 a night. Sleep not included.
Still, I liked staying there.

NOTE: I previously did this review and accidentally gave it a 2/5 for Cleanliness. This is SO NOT TRUE!!! It was very clean, and I apologize for misleading anyone!.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, stay away from river side. # 5 on river has 2 windows for cross vent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trempealeau
16.1 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
1,920 reviews
14.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
16.3 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Show Prices

Been to Trempealeau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trempealeau Hotel

Address: 150 Main St, Trempealeau, WI 54661
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Trempealeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trempealeau
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms to fit most budgets. Eight European style rooms (i.e. bathroom down the hall) start at $46 per night and are located directly above the bar and restaurant. Only room #10 has air conditioning and none of these units have a tele. On the property there is also a cabin $110/130 with it's own deck, a separate bedroom and living room, cable TV and a/c. Directly next to the hotel are two identical suites ($110/130) featuring a whirlpool tub, gas fireplace, queen size bed, and sitting area with an unobstructed view of the river (cable TV and a/c). King Fishers are four basic motel rooms with their own bath, satellite TV and a/c, located next to the public boat landing, one mile away from the hotel ($65/75). Check-in is at the bar/restaurant from 3pm and check out is 11am (just leave your key in the room). The restaurant offers meals made from scratch using responsibly sourced and local ingredients. Both lunch and dinner are served. The historic saloon has music most Thursdays and Saturdays and a great selection of wine, cocktails and craft beers. Internet available in upstairs of hotel, saloon and main dining room. The property is closed for maintenance in January. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing