We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent”
Review of Trempealeau Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trempealeau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trempealeau Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trempealeau
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Small-town hotels/restaurants have a tough go of it. For years, the restaurant here has had a loyal group of supporters, many coming for the famous walnut burgers, and in the last year or two management has broadened the menu, seeking to move a bit higher on the local dining scene. However, the endeavor has not been smooth. Some of our recent meals have been quite good, but the bad nights are monumentally bad. Recently, for example, the steaks were all overcooked, the potato dish was raw, and the wine was substandard. Desserts here are consistently disappointing. One hope, one really does, that this potential destination dining place might become a reliable and enjoyable restaurant worthy of the drive. For now, that is not the case.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful views of the bluffs and Mississippi River. We enjoyed the Pines cabin with plenty of room for our family. Separate bedroom, jacuzzi tub, and foldout couch in the living room. Nice deck. Great little restaurant with friendly staff and amazing food! Enjoyed live music at the restaurant on Valentines Day.

Room Tip: Pines Cabin is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are small and basic - more for sleeping in than relaxing but that's okay because there is a beautiful forest across the street to hike or bike in. The best part of staying here is the Trempealeau Cafe on the first floor. The Walnut Burgers are to die for and are in such demand that they recently started selling them in Minneapolis/St. Paul food coops. Our only complaint is that we stayed when there was live music going on so between the trains that go past every half and hour or so and the music it was difficult to get some rest. However, request a room on the non-noisy side of the hotel and you'll be fine. The Hotel also features occasional live music so that's what some people go specifically for. Getting to Trempealeau is half the fun - the countryside and the river are beautiful to experience. There are some u-pick places nearby too.

Room Tip: Sleep away from the riverside if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTalkDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a group bicycling tour in Trempealeau county and had a great time. Enjoyed sitting on the deck on the banks of the Mississippi River with excellent food (try the walnut burger and tortilla flat). The trains were noisy but we had fun counting the cars, in a return to our younger days, and they were not an issue for sleeping. Thoroughly enjoyed the live music which shut down at 11:00. It was a nice finale to our week long tour.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The historic rooms are over the bar and restaurant, and there was loud music from the bar until at least midnight (and this was in the middle of the week!) Plus, huge freight trains blast through at 70 MPH about 200 feet from the hotel, on and off all night. Can't imagine anybody getting a good night's sleep in those rooms. The rooms are nice, as long as you can deal with sharing a bathroom with other guests.
The walnut burgers in the restaurant are good.

Room Tip: Avoid the historic rooms over the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mn_daytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you like to journey along the road less traveled then the Trempealeau Hotel is a must stop. Situated on the banks of the Mississippi River north of LaCrosse, Wisconsin in the Coulee Region this historic gem offers an escape from the rigors of life in the fast lane. Sitting on the deck of the hotel we get a view of the hilly landscape of Minnesota with the river, supporting various watercraft, from leisure boats to barges. The lock at Trempealeau offers the opportunity to watch these craft come through at the observation platform. Several years ago we watched the American Queen, a steamboat of four stories, come through on her final voyage down the river. On both sides of the Mississippi River railroad tracks hug the shoreline. The sound of trains lulls us to sleep as a reminder of a time gone by slips by our room. The European style facilities require some patience but weekday stays are generally less active. The price of lodging is in line with this factor. The restaurant offers a diverse selection of food choices to satisfy every appetite. Many of the ingredients are locally grown and quite flavorful. The Walnut Burger for vegetarians is very tasty. After dinner the bar offers a wide selection of beer, wine or mixed drinks with live music on the weekends. My first experience at the Trempealeau Hotel was an outdoor concert with Arlo Guthrie. As he sang “City of New Orleans” a freight train passed by right behind the stage. This experience is still vivid in my memory. The Trempealeau Hotel is always a welcome home for us when we return from many of the activities that the area offers outdoor enthusiasts. When we are looking for a special experience the Trempealeau Hotel is our first choice.


Mary Lewis

Room Tip: Room #5 has two windows for cross ventilation and is far from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stated in "the cottage ". It was a very nice room, large living room , wet bar with microwave and small 'fridge( dorm room size). Jacuzzi tub and shower in bath . Right on the Mississippi but this also means on the railroad tracks so trains all night so if you are a light sleeper this may be a problem . Service slow in the hotel for dinner-maybe understaffed

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kheltzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trempealeau
16.1 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
1,914 reviews
15.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#5 of 7 in Winona
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
14.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
16.3 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trempealeau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trempealeau Hotel

Address: 150 Main St, Trempealeau, WI 54661
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Trempealeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trempealeau
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms to fit most budgets. Eight European style rooms (i.e. bathroom down the hall) start at $46 per night and are located directly above the bar and restaurant. Only room #10 has air conditioning and none of these units have a tele. On the property there is also a cabin $110/130 with it's own deck, a separate bedroom and living room, cable TV and a/c. Directly next to the hotel are two identical suites ($110/130) featuring a whirlpool tub, gas fireplace, queen size bed, and sitting area with an unobstructed view of the river (cable TV and a/c). King Fishers are four basic motel rooms with their own bath, satellite TV and a/c, located next to the public boat landing, one mile away from the hotel ($65/75). Check-in is at the bar/restaurant from 3pm and check out is 11am (just leave your key in the room). The restaurant offers meals made from scratch using responsibly sourced and local ingredients. Both lunch and dinner are served. The historic saloon has music most Thursdays and Saturdays and a great selection of wine, cocktails and craft beers. Internet available in upstairs of hotel, saloon and main dining room. The property is closed for maintenance in January. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing