We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big City Gourmet in The WIsconsin Northwoods” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Lodge Restaurant

Pine Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Trego
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Pine Lodge Restaurant features contemporary Northwoods cuisine at an affordable price. Come experience this gem at Heartwood Conference Center, in Trego, WI, and enjoy an amazing dining experience.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big City Gourmet in The WIsconsin Northwoods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Pine Lodge restaurant is a hidden gem. Zak is a great chef who creates THE BEST gourmet food at reasonable prices. We have never been disappointed here, and would definitely recommend it to our friends (already have!).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
2 reviews
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The menu is not extensive but the food is excellent. The wine list is good. Prices are reasonable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Overall, I highly recommend the Pine Lodge Restaurant for a nice meal in a very beautiful setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank wardarees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine Dining in the Northwoods!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have spent many summer vacations on Bass Lake in Minong, but live in Chicago. We have lots of great restaurants in Chicago, but Pine Lodge stands right along with the best in Chicago. The food is wonderful and obviously the chef's preparation makes it over the top. The walleye was to die for as was the bread pudding. The room was beautiful. The service was amazing. The drinks were great too. We loved the friendliness of the bartender. For the quality, the price was as one would expect. However, there are options where you could eat here and keep to a budget. We will try them later. It was difficult to find at first, because there are lots of buidlings in this resort. Stop and ask if you can't find it. For us, it is just a hop, skip, and a jump from our cabin. This restaurant should take off and do a great business if people know about it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadott, Wisconsin
1 review
“off the beaten path”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We found the food to be great, the service was above average, the setting and décor were fantastic, but as with any business.....location, location, location.... although it couldn't get any better for resort guests, we found it really lacking for the common public, dirt roads don't really invite a real crowd. Would we recommend it to friends etc.? If anyone were to be in the area, say 15-20 miles away, definitely, but to drive a long way, probably not. We also found the prices a bit high for the common diner, they were more in line with some more high brow establishments, not really for the family of common means, especially with a down economy. Will we be visiting any time soon? Highly unlikely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zac B, Manager at Pine Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I would like to first thank you for taking the time ( and the trip) to dine with us, and I am glad you had an overall enjoyable dining experience. We do appreciate your feedback and location is something that we will always battle with. In designing the restaurant, we had that in mind so we have strived to create a "destination dining" experience in order to justify the trip. We want to be that local gem for those near by and that special night out for those that have to travel. Also, if you do have to travel, it may be a great excuse to check out one of the many lodging accomodations that we have to offer on property.

On a side note, our driveway is actually a town road which we do not own. However, we are working with the town to try to get the road paved to make travel even easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trego
2 reviews
“Wish we would have visited sooner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We're locals and had never visited until yesterday. We should have done it sooner. Great atmosphere, family friendly, OUTSTANDING FOOD and attentive servers/staff. The presentation of our meal was great as well! There's no doubt we will visit again. The only improvement we could think of is increased signage to the actual restaurant to help first time visitors on their way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing