We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Certificate of Excellence
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quick trip”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The property is wonderful in every way but I still don't understand the food situation. I must have missed something because no other reviews mention it. I stayed one night and luckily the restaurant was serving from 5pm to 9pm. No breakfast in the morning so I'm glad I had a room with a kitchenette and brought some food. Can anyone clarify?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit! We continue to experiment with the best breakfast idea for leisure travelers, and your comments will be shared to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    28
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
30
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is my favorite place to vacation ! :) The main lodge is breathtaking inside and the other towo also offer fitness rooms and lobby areas to gather with freinds. The grounds are immaculate not to mention how beautiful the trails are. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The view from every room is breathtaking...you're either looking at woods or a lake and a very well kept lawn and common areas. with so much to do indoors and out ...from hiking, swimming, canoeing, and at night they have a lodge bar with pool and ping pong and board games and food. In Wisconsin near lots of other recreational lakes and golf courses to choose from with in a 15-30 minute drive. Well worth the drive! Lynn :)

Room Tip: Suites have full kitchen facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanfinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your stay and your comments, which have been shared with the team and appreciated by all. We look forward to being your host for your next getaway to the amazing Northwoods of Wisconsin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
negaunee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went there for a "destination" wedding......AMAZING grounds, many acres, activities, clean rooms, friendly staff......everything was first rate! REALLY not an easy place to find as signage in Trego is ZILCH......It is out in the "boonies" on a gravel road but oh so beautiful and restful. This a property owned by Trivent for Lutherans.

Room Tip: Get a good MAP!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaNegaunee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was here for a business conference that included a lot of fun resort extras like a canoe ride, hayride and dinner and drinks in the main lodge's Eagles Nest. The resort is remote and lacks every bell and whistle but the staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and well equipped. All our meals on site were very good. It wouldn't be an ideal vacation spot for my family, but it is an idyllic place if you love the outdoors, nature and a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennTillbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Everyone there was very pleasant Travis the chef was great. He did a fantastic job with our meals. The rooms were nice and clean and when we went tubing Jimbo made sure that we were all taken care of and dropped us back off at the front of our room. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only downfall to the trip was the ticks and bugs were bad but they can't control that. We love heartwood and we defiantly will be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here twice. First just my husband and I for a quiet getaway. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to bring the family back for a visit during their Christmas break. That's when everything went awry. Before we left on the day of our stay, we called to make sure that there was ice skating and ice fishing available. We were assured both were available by the front desk staff. On the way, we stopped to purchase new skates for our son as he had outgrown his old ones. When we arrived, there was a sign on the skating rink that said "stay off the ice" and it was blocked completely off with orange cones. When we went to the lake to see about ice fishing there was a sign that said "thin ice". At check-in they had our room in the wrong building despite making the request at the point of making the reservation months before. This was very important as the hot-tub is located near only one of the buildings and they are not connected. You would not want to walk around outside, wet, when it's in the teens out. After some discussion, they did accommodate our request on the building. We were one of very few guests at the place,so I have no idea why it was even a question. Shortly after checking in, we noticed there was no heat in either of our two rooms. This took some time to get resolved. Did I mention it was in the teens outside? Heartland is in a beautiful wooded location, but the downside, it that it is miles and miles from anything, so we intended to eat lunch at the "snack shack" where they also rent outdoor equipment and sell bait, etc. We had called the Snack Shack directly the week before and was ensured they would be available. On 12/22/12, we received an email from heartland that the special was "buy one, get one free on ski rental". Upon arrival, we discovered the Snack Shack, and therefore, the accompanying rentals, were closed. They remained closed the for the duration of our two-night stay. When asking at the front desk about when they would be open, they were unsure and seemed confused. We had to drive back to Minong to feed our family and buy bait. Despite the "thin ice" signs we saw others fishing and the front desk staff assured us that it was safe to fish. The front desk attendant would not believe us that the skating rink was closed until we took a picture of the sign and showed it to her. She said "someone must be lying to me". Other issues, were that the pool table only had one cue stick. The first time we were there, we saw they offered a Wii, which was missing entirely this time.
To add insult to injury, when we went to load our car, one hour before check out time, we discovered that all of room cards stopped working and we were locked out of the building in 10 degrees.
We have tried on numerous occasions to get management to return our phone calls and emails, and we have yet to hear back from them. We wanted to give them a chance to rectify the situation but we were never allowed that courtesy due to their blatant lack of concern. If you check the reviews I write, you will see that the vast majority of time I rate places a 4 or 5, so you should appreciate how miserable Heartland is. It's a pity, as it had potential.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It sounds like you were excited to enjoy the amazing amenities offered at Heartwood in the winter, and sadly the weather was not favorable this year for many of our recreational options. It took us weeks to make usable skating ice on the rink during that warm December, and the entire month was "rock skis" only on the trails. We have had more winter in April! I will do a better job of promoting our indoor options to our guests and ensure we have that information communicated -- as we host many that have enjoyed a restful, stress-relieving getaway in all kinds of weather conditions and in all seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have stayed there at least one a year, this particular was in May. Very peaceful, relax in outside Hot tub at night, Loons in background. Plenty of activities or just sit and relax wih wine. Restaurant on site is nice. I have attended conventions at Heartwood, very professional.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay within the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trego
15.0 mi away
Best Western Spooner Riverplace
20.5 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
25.0 mi away
Best Western Northwoods Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
St. Croix Inn
St. Croix Inn
#1 of 1 in Solon Springs
41 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
24.6 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Property: Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Address: N10884 Hoinville Rd, Trego, WI 54888-9161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Trego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 700 acres of breathtaking natural woodlands, Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat is the perfect destination for discovering the beauty of Northwestern Wisconsin while enjoying the inviting accommodations of our wilderness paradise. With two private lakes and the nationally protected Namekagon River, Heartwood’s pristine setting provides the ideal environment for a relaxing getaway, family-fun vacation, or a group retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Conference Center And Retreat
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat Hotel Trego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing