We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Northwoods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have stayed there at least one a year, this particular was in May. Very peaceful, relax in outside Hot tub at night, Loons in background. Plenty of activities or just sit and relax wih wine. Restaurant on site is nice. I have attended conventions at Heartwood, very professional.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay within the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 119 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayted at Heartwood Center several times. Recently, we rode our snowmobiles there and spent the night. We checked in and then rode down to the restaurant and had a delicious meal by the fireplace. The restaurant and bar are only open limited days and hours. The lodge did sell pizza and wine. The lodge also had an order form if you wanted to order limited breakfast items for the next morning. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave, so we could have brought some of our own food. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. There is an outside hot tub and numerous ski trails. They sell gas for the snowmoblies on property. It was a lovely stay, we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scamperaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here 2/1613 - 2/18/13. The rooms were clean and had a fridge and microwave and a lot of cupboard and counter space. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great. The layout of the place is really spread out. We drove to the restaurant for dinner, which was very good. Highly recommend the duck and the beer cheese soup. The restuarant wasn't open on Sunday for breakfast but they had a breakfast buffet in the main lodge was was excellent.

Room Tip: I believe we just had a standard room and were happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sljce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend New Year's Eve and New Year's Day in a cabin, far away from the city and with our little dog. This was the perfect place! Just 2 hours away from the Twin Cities.
We got the "stay 2 nights get the 3rd for free". We were afraid we were going to get bored, but in the end we didn't want to go back home, so many things to do. If you like hiking there are about 10-15 different trails to explore. The shortest one takes about 45 minutes to hike. This place is huge! If you like skiing, there are trails for that purpose, too. Kids (and grown ups) can have fun with tubing.
The cabin was cozy, right next to the lake. There are few games in it, and a puzzle, which I couldn't finish. The place gets very warm if you turn on the fireplace that gives a romantic ambience. There is a full kitchen with almost everything you need (no cutting board). If you'd like to enjoy a glass of wine, you need to bring your own corkscrew or bottle opener. There is a TV, but no DVD player. Wireless internet is available.
If you are looking for a place where you need to relax alone, or with family, or friends. this is the place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Carla_0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Heartwood Retreat is located about 10 miles from the nearest community--a beautiful setting on a lake. Staff people are friendly and accommodating. I asked to upgrade from 2 queens to a king and was told that would cost $40. more/night. I declined. Room was so-so with no fridge or microwave. There is a microwave in the common room down the hall. The room had a nice little patio overlooking the lake. Because Heartwood caters so many big events like conferences, weddings, etc., the restaurant has a limited menu. The food is excellent but there isn't a lot to choose from. The biggest drawback to the restaurant is its location. We were stunned to find out that it was 1.4 miles from our room, down a road that was difficult to find and follow in the dark. On our way back, we got lost and 2 other cars trying to find it got lost also. We ended up following each other around the back roads. Earlier in the year when it stays light longer, this might not be a problem. In December it is. There are wonderful activities for families and youngsters--just not handy for oldsters.

Room Tip: If you plan to eat at the restaurant in the evening, ask for a room in a building close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aging1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I went to the Heartwood on a recommendation from a friend who stayed there. I wanted to get away from the "rat race" for a couple of days, just me and my dog. I requested a remote cabin away from the main lodge. It was very nice and clean. The first morning I woke up, let my dog out and locked myself out of the cabin! Luckily the maintenance man came and let me back in. Then an hour later I realized I had locked my keys in the car! I haven't been locked out of anything in many many years but this happened twice when I was up north for a "relaxing" couple if days. Anyway, the staff at Heartwood were all so wonderful from the maintenance men to the front desk and management!! They tried to help me get my keys from the car but the car was truly theft-proof. Then another one of the maintenance men gave me a ride to Spooner to get another key made (which ultimately didn't work because the wrong key blank was used and wouldn't fit into the key hole!!).

The manager offered to comp me a dinner and even have it delivered to my door!! They went way beyond every expectation especially since my problems were all my own doing, no fault of the Heartwood AT ALL!!

I would highly recommend the Heartwood. Beautiful resort, reasonably priced, many hiking trails and fantastic service!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AECP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently spent Friday and Saturday night here. This place has a 90 year history, but only in the past few years have they started marketing themselves. It is several miles from the main road, on gravel, and we were not sure where we were going in the dark. We checked in, and the next morning, we were stunned at how beautiful the place was. There is a variety of accommodations--lodge rooms with microwave and frig, duplexes, and cabins. They even allow dogs in one type of accommodations. We noticed a swimming beach, volleyball and tennis courts, and lots of hiking trails. On Saturday night, we ate at their on-site restaurant (limited hours during the off-season) and the meal was wonderful. This would be a great place for a company retreat or conference.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynaegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trego
15.0 mi away
Best Western Spooner Riverplace
19.9 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
24.6 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Hayward
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
St. Croix Inn
St. Croix Inn
#1 of 1 in Solon Springs
42 reviews
24.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 15 in Hayward
74 reviews
24.0 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#13 of 15 in Hayward
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Address: N10884 Hoinville Rd, Trego, WI 54888-9161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Trego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Price Range: $98 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 700 acres of breathtaking natural woodlands, Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat is the perfect destination for discovering the beauty of Northwestern Wisconsin while enjoying the inviting accommodations of our wilderness paradise. With two private lakes and the nationally protected Namekagon River, Heartwood’s pristine setting provides the ideal environment for a relaxing getaway, family-fun vacation, or a group retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Conference Center And Retreat
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat Hotel Trego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing