We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our Family's Annual Get Together”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Tomah, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicole S
1 review
“Cobwebs, ants, and bugs were already booked in the home when we arrived.”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at the Paradise home for a week vacation. The odor you will notice right away when you enter...not pleasant, probably coming from the rotten garbage in the bottom of the trashcan that hasn't been cleaned. So I assume this and other molds is what made me sick every morning. No curtains so forget sleeping in. The grill was not cleaned when we got there but they insist you clean before you leave, so we did and it was so rusted it fell apart.. It is not a lake, it is more of a pond overcome with weeds and snapping turtles. Very scummy. Enjoyed the hot to ice cold showers I got to take everyday. T.V. sound would fluctuate frequently. The 25 year old lawn furniture at the overgrown beaches...hope they can upgrade with what they are charging. The locks on the sliding doors were broken so it is a little leery not being able to lock up when you are vacationing with a bunch of cash. However, Terry was very accommodating and let us bring our golf cart. And the fish were biting, you can catch many bluegill. Paddleboats were fun although did not try the rowboat. Did see the maintenance mowing and he did blow up he trampoline on the lake because it a bit deflated. Sorry, I will not be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
I have to call this a "gotcha" review because this guest never called about any of these issues. Had she called, we would have immediately sent house keeping or maintenance to correct the problems. There is no mold in the home and there are curtains or blinds on all bedroom windows. The TV is 6 months old and the beach chairs are a year old. So, I don't get it??? We have an algae plow boat that we use any time we have an algae bloom. Some guests would be better off in a motel if they can't deal with a nature environment although it would cost them more. Their effective rate equated to $31.58 per night per person. All patio door locks work. I apologize for the oversites on the grill and trash can. The grill has been replaced.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PugglePip...
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Family's Annual Get Together”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have been having a weeks "family" vacation for several years now..2 sons, spouses and 4 grandkids. We have rented different places in Wis...Birch Lake is our favorite by far! We rented Serenity Bay cabin with 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms. Check out the website to get all the details. We were right on the small lake, well appointed items in the "cabin". Many things to do right on site...row and pedal paddle boats with our own pier, 4 small but nicely kept sand beaches. Volleyball, badminton and corn hole game area. Gazebo next to pier on main beach with large water raft. Nice hiking path around the lake.
We went horseback riding at Red Ridge Ranch, half hour away.
Except for two nights we ate all meals in,,,nice Weber grill. Two great places to eat... Peking Restaurant downtown and Smittys Overtime Inn a few miles outside.
Made s'more and sat around the fire pit almost every night. Awesome wrap around deck with tables and chairs so we could eat outside. Hot tub on lower level was a special treat. Attention was given almost immediately to a couple of minor issues. There are three other smaller cabins on site...each having their own charm and nice lay outs all with hot tubs, pier.
Birch lake is a catch and release...our group caught numerous large mouth bass and blue gills...many were good sized; we were serenaded by courting bullfrogs at night, song birds each morning and had many laughs over the antics of the small pine squirrels. Found deer tracks but they were elusive.
We brought along our kayaks with the plan to take them over to Lake Tomah but ran out of days. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Wow, it's great to see a family that really knows how to have fun. Thank you again for staying at Birch Lake and we'll see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carm C
melrose park, United States
1 review
“kool and fun”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Birch Lake was more than I expected it to be. Beautiful fishing and hiking areas, with a boat and swimming--just a fun wonderful experience

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G
Mpls,MN
2 reviews
“The worst place ever , very disappointed !!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from our family getaway. Hot tub jets did not work, ping pong paddles broken we had to duck tape them, dishwasher did not clean dishes we had to do our own all weekend !! paddle boat leaked. Row boat paddles cracked. Cob webs, dead bugs in the corners of the rooms. Lamp in my room shade cracked and light socket coming out of the wall. Junk, dust and other peoples left behind belongings under the beds, I don't know when the place was last dusted maybe the last time a review 2015. Seriously. Couldn't believe the dust on the valence above the kitchen sink. The pictures make this place look awesome. But when you actually see the rooms in person and the cabin it is really dirty. We could not use the hot tub, my 11 month old grandson could blow better bubbles than what the hot tub was putting out. Called the owner regarding the hot tub and dishwasher. NO apology, just excuses. I never even mentioned the dust, the uncleanliness of the place. Sorry but would NEVER recommend this place, neither would my family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the deck, and grounds for outdoor games
Liked least: all the amenities that did not work, and the uncleanliness of the place
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
This review was not written by the person that booked this home and is the first bad review we have ever had. After you read this review please read the other reviews on the Serenity Bay home. Every review is 5 stars except for 3 that are 4 stars. It proves the adage that "YOU CAN'T PLEASE ALL OF THE PEOPLE ALL OF THE TIME". They damaged the paddle boat beyond repair by diving off of it but we still got them a replacement. The dishwasher works fine but sometimes it's necessary to prewash heavy food first. Hot tub also works fine although the jet pressure didn't meet with their expectations. We haven't had a housekeeping complaint in years. They called every day of their stay with numerous complaints.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mizzoumma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Paradise”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with our stay. Wonderful beautiful off the beaten path place to relax. Staying here was as comfortable as being at home. Beautiful lake with our own row boat. Great service. Terry and Sally are first rate hosts. Gary and his son were also very helpful and friendly. We would recommend anyone wanting a peaceful vacation to stay here. Only 40mins from the Dells. You can visit Dells and come back for your sanctity.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allie O
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful time staying in the Paradise Cabin this past Memorial Day weekend. Eight of us fit very comfortably in the house and everything was in great condition. The lake was very relaxing and private.

The city of Tomah is pretty small, but if you plan on staying around the cabin, then this is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch overlooking the lake
Liked least: The wifi was kind of spotty
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Necedah
Reviewed May 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing