We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Saturday!”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent a brilliant Saturday evening in the lovely sunshine at the Victoria. The bar menu was delicious, substantial, and not over priced and service was prompt. Our bottle of wine was corked, however the staff were very kind and helpful in replacing this immediately. Great supper followed by a [badly played] game of darts and a relaxed atmosphere made for a super sunny Saturday - I would highly recommend this pub to any passer by!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us, I am sure your darts can’t have been as bad as some we have seen, repairing and painting the wall by the board is certainly keeping our maintenance man busy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 579 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here for the weekend for my birthday, what a great place. We had a room at the front where the views were fantastic and the beds really comfortable . Food in the restaurant was excellent my steak was the best I have ever had cooked to perfection, Staff were very helpful and attentive nothing was too much trouble for them. I will definitely be returning.
Thank you to everyone at the vic that made my birthday a really special one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chell369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your birthday weekend, I am delighted that the team were able to contribute so positively to your day.

Our very best wishes & a belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY from us all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Took someone here to lunch today,wanted it to be a special thank you to them. Serve poor - we never did get the water we asked for. Flies buzzing round dining room. Starters OK mine the pigeon very meagre. The main appalling , watery stock with a few rank stalks of cauliflower a bit of rocket was called I think cauliflower and leek au gratin. I think they forgot the leeks and the cheese Dire and expensive I was not in a position to complain at the time, but goodness me I won't be recommending this restaurant.to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

I am sorry to read of your disappointments with the food and also that you were not in a position to complain at the time of your visit as we would of course have liked to have the opportunity to put things right for you. However thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback now to enable me to address the issues you have brought to my attention with the kitchen team.

Regrettably despite every effort from our pest controllers the presence of flies is inevitable in our location set between the mashes of the national nature reserve and the deer park of the Holkham Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Holkham Victoria will always be one a very special place to us. We have been visiting it for years and never disappointed. It has gone through changes over the years but always has that very special feel to it. When we visited last year to check the latest refurb we had no hesitation in booking our wedding there! And what a wedding it was. From Start to finish Ben and his team were exceptional. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable and catered for our every need. The food throughout the day was simply superb (Venison from the Holkham Estate)

As for the rooms, they are a great mix of Coastal chic and Country Estate tweed. The Beds are incredibly comfy and the view (Front facing room) probably the best in Norfolk. . I happened to be awake early enough to see a Marsh Harrier swooping over the plains opposite!

All in all the Victoria is a 'one of a kind' hotel. It seems to tick all of boxes for us whether its a walk on the beach with the dog followed by a light bite or a formal occasion it never disappoints.

Good work Vic!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomTomNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your special day, we were delighted to be able to help you make it such a memorable occasion and hope to have the opportunity to celebrate an anniversary or two with you in the years to come.

Best wishes for a long and happy marriage from us all at the Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

After reading some of the poor reviews we were a little unsure of our stay. We certainly did not have to worry it was wonderful from start to finish. The staff were warm and friendly. The room very well appointed with lovely views. The breakfasts were a real treat, one of the best sausages I have tasted in a long while. We were a large party for lunch and the service was first class, all of our meals were delicious. We will certainly be returning. All this a doggy friendly too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dyanawestall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Vic and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having read all the reviews for the restaurant, I booked with some trepidation. Totally unfounded as it turned out! We were well received, served and advised. The food (Hake and Lemon Sole) was very good, as was the wine. The prices weren't out of this world, and the whole experience was a pleasure. One gripe - the acoustics in the conservatory.

Room Tip: We didn't stay - only had lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The positives are, beautiful area and building. Negatives miserable unhelpful staff and average pub food at absolutely extortionate prices, a complete rip off. If you stumble upon this pub/hotel keep going. The owners of this establishment need a reality check to the prices they are charging and stop ripping tourists off.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide you opinion, the ethos behind the food offering at the Victoria is to serve the freshest local and responsibly sourced produce prepared simply using traditional cooking methods, which we believe offer both consistency and value.
I would be most grateful to have the opportunity to discuss your thoughts on the Victoria food offering to identify where exactly where we failed to meet you expectations and to identify the members of the team you found miserable and unhelpful to enable me to address these issues with them. I can be contacted at the Victoria on 01328 711008.
Kind regards

Ben Hunter-Watts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holkham
3.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,372 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
722 reviews
8.2 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
671 reviews
13.6 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
923 reviews
5.2 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Holkham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Price Range: $236 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the gateway to Holkham and the National Nature Reserve, The Victoria is a classic English inn owned by the Coke family and managed by the Holkham Estate. There are ten elegant, indivually designed and stylish bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. We are ready to welcome more guests in spring 2015 with the addition of a further ten bedrooms just across the road from The Victoria in one of the oldest buildings on the Holkham Estate: Ancient House. The building has been converted to provide ten additional bedrooms, including four spacious family room. The sympathetic refurbishment has retained many of the building's original features, combining authentic charm with luxurious modernity. The bar and dining rooms at The Vic offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort. We serve delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the estate, with a bold emphasis on freshness, simplicity and value. Holkham has been a leading agricultural estate since the 1800's when Thomas William Coke bought the site and the young Queen Victoria elevated him to the peerage in recognition of his contribution to farming in 1837. The name of the proposed new inn must have been inevitable when it opened its doors in 1838. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victoria At Holkham Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Victoria At Holkham Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing