We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Style, but a little loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northernaire Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Three Lakes
West Allis, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Style, but a little loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

My husband and I went to the Northernaire Resort and Spa for our four year wedding Anniversary. We were planning a romantic weekend getaway. I think the room we stayed it helped achieve that. The room we stayed in was a one bedroom Alder. it was very nice....better style and value than the others we looked into in the area. There was a gas fireplace, a whirlpool tub, and a full kitchen with dishes! This was great because we didn't have to go out for all our meals. There was a little bit of a lake view from our room. The bedroom and living area were seperate. There was an extra vanity area outside out of the bathroom. This would be great for any length of stay. The "room" could expand and have a second bedroom which is located next door. The extra room was rented out when we were there, and you could hear fairly clearly what was going on next door. All the rooms also had balconies, with a table and chair set. it was very nice to be able to go out and sit on it thru out the day. The only bad thing was that the balconies were right on top of each other, so if someone was above or below you, you could hear what they were talking about as well. Overall a very nice place to visit and my husband and I are planning on going back again.

  • Liked — The size of the room and the kitchen.
  • Disliked — Too easy to hear noise.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ffachick2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

Yes it is a condo. But who cares! For about the price of a hotel we stayed in a beautiful 1 bedroom condo with an out of this world view. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. There was a great place for breakfast just down the road (The Sunset Grill) and a number of places for dinner in town just a few miles away (our favorite was the Black Forest....this is a place you have to try!). Our room was spacious and beaifully decorated and like the rest of the property it was immaculate.

As for some guest comments about noise, it could be that I'm loosing my hearing but I didn't hear a sound. And there was a wedding party that seemed to occupy the entire hotel so it's not like the place was empty.

I will definitely return and would urge anyone traveling to the northwoods area to give this place a look. You won't find a more beautiful place.

  • Liked — view, spaciousness...and the fishing off the dock!
  • Disliked — what's not to like? it's all great
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freefaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

At first glance, the place is beautiful - new and clean. However, once you spend your first night there you will see this facility in a different light. There is no insulation between the larger rooms and the lock off rooms. This isn't an issue if you are there during the off season, but durring the high season the partying next door gets to be too much. You can honestly hear everything that is said in the room next to you. Also, you can't control your own A/C or Heat unit. The room next door can overide what you set it at.
Don't get me wrong, it is the nicest rental property available in Three Lakes, but for the cost, they should have really constructed the property in a true luxury mannor.
The views are wonderful, and the golf course across the road is a lot of fun.

  • Liked — New, clean rooms
  • Disliked — noisy, uncontrolled heat
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heike51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed here recently for a wedding, and had high hopes from the reviews on this site (although now looking at it, all of them had ever posted just one review...) but after staying there we were rather disappointed.

The place is a condo building, with 3 stories of condos overlooking a small lake - overall beautiful location. It's definitely setup for condo sales and not really as a hotel. When we checked in, the front desk person really didn't have any information on the hotel/condo, and sent us to the opposite side of the building from our room (other people had the same experience too). There wasn't any information on what was/wasn't there - we were able to find the pool/hot tub which looked nice (and wireless internet, at least I found A wireless network, not sure if it was free with the hotel or not, but it worked).

When we got to our room the floor was covered in dead flies. We called the front desk and they sent maintenance up right away to take care of it, but it looked like no one had been in the room for a long time, as there was also dust on the tables and countertops.

The room itself was large, nice furniture and a nice kitchen. There isn't a restaurant at the place (and no pizza delivery), so you will need to bring food or go out to one of the local places (there's a small grocery store about 4 miles away, and several local places within a few miles).

Biggest complaint - it's loud. We could understand what the people below us were saying (and could clearly hear their dog, too). I know the place wasn't full, so I can't imagine how loud it is when there are a lot of people there.

Our room had a nice fireplace and 2 flat screen TVs, along with a balcony. It was cool when we stayed there so we didn't use it, but it had a nice view and access from both the bedroom and the living room. It had a large bathroom, with a separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The tub was nice and deep, although only half of the jets worked.

Bottom line - OK place - it's still new, and there's a lot that needs to be finished and fixed up. The noise was an issue - if I knew it was going to be empty I'd stay there again because the rooms were nice, but if it was full I'm finding somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freudianslipwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

This place is truly amazing, a jewel in the northwoods.. It is close to Eagle River, we used to stay in a hotel there but just 10 miles south we found Northernaire Resort, and will never go anywhere else when traveling north. The resort has luxury villas, with full kitchens, you could live there.. I just cant say enough..

  • Liked — The rooms! And Great Staff
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlanta_HaLucy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Lakes
12.2 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
11.6 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
11.8 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Oneida Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Three Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
19.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northernaire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northernaire Resort

Property: Northernaire Resort
Address: 6990 Bengs Rd, Three Lakes, WI 54562
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Three Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Three Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Northernaire Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northernaire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northernaire Resort And Spa
Northernaire Hotel Three Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing