We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the woods!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northernaire Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Three Lakes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Northernaire just two nights and wished it could have been two weeks. Our suite was very luxurious with a beautiful view. We loved the decor and the location was great. We weren't expecting a spa so that was no problem that they weren't open on the days we were there. The people at the front desk were friendly but we really didn't need much from them as we had everything we needed. It is more like staying in your own condo than a resort. We ate at the Wicked Grill in Eagle River which was excellent as well as the White Stag in Rhinelander which is an old family favorite. It's a great place to just kick back and relax!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our family stayed at the Maplewood Villa at the Northernaire Resort for 7 nights during the week of 4th July. While we love Three Lakes and certainly had an enjoyable stay, we were very disappointed in one aspect of the accommodations.
First the pros: The Maplewood is a 2 bedroom free-standing vacation home ("villa") with 2 queens in one bedroom and one in the other, as well as a sofa bed in the living room. It is super clean and beautifully decorated (sort of California-ish decor - not knotty pine and cabin-y, as you'd expect up in northern WI), with lots of great amenities like flat screen tvs, DVD player, laundry (in unit), fully equipped kitchen and BBQ grill. The beds were incredibly comfy and the villa is spacious inside, with a deck and fire pit outside. Perfect for the 6 of us, plus we had friends over for dinner one night. It was unusually hot up there this week, so everyone loved the AC! The resort has a huge outdoor hot tub and an indoor pool, which you can also take advantage of, if you like.
Now the con - really just the one, but it's big: The Maplewood is set way back on the property, roughly 100 or so yards from the lake, so think football field distance. Now think football field filled with sand, scrub, funky sharp plants that scratch your legs, grasshoppers and a (sand) hill to descend/ climb and how unpleasant it would be to trudge through that to get to the lake because there is no path. There's a road that winds way around to get to it, but who wants to drive to the lake when you rented a lakeside vacation home? Worse yet, the unsightly terrain totally mars the view of the lake through the trees from the villa. We knew about the distance to the lakefront, but we did not know that part of the property would be so ugly and difficult to traverse, and it is not shown in the pictures. We rented a pontoon for the week (from Watercraft - very nice rental boats!), and that long trek to the pier is the difference between just running down to jump in the lake, cast out a fishing line or sit on your boat to enjoy looking at the lake and deciding it's too much of a hassle to trudge through the sand and brush again. It would sure seem much shorter if there were a path or boardwalk but would still be ugly to look at from the deck. A nice lawn would solve the problem entirely. So, that 100+ yards was a huge drawback which would prevent us from renting that particular villa again. Northernaire needs to seriously consider how to solve this problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TrayZ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

A bit of luxury in the northwoods is how I would describe the northernaire. It was perfect for a family snowmobile trip. Right on the trail and a great hot tub. We were disappointed that there were no spa services or maid service, but for the price it was a great deal. Just be prepared to be self sufficient. The sunset grill down the street is a great place for breakfast. Again right on the trail. We ate dinner at the Wicked Grill in Eagle River, which is about 20 minutes north, it was a great casual meal. We tried lunch at the pine isle and loved the cheeseburgers and onion rings. Good snowmobile rental from 4 seasons sports 1/2 mile from the condo. Had a great time and can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

stayed here in 2009 had a awesome stay has a arcade room and really hot outside hot tub.

Room Tip: Rooms On The Ground Rule!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaseisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room and the view from our room were beautiful. I can't say enough good things about the Northernaire. We have stayed there on a couple of other occasions and have never had a complaint. We are already planning a family getaway this winter and a group trip with some friends next fall.

I would recommend the Northernaire Resort and Spa in Three Lakes, Wisconsin to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Loons on the lakes they came to say goodbye! On Golden Pond! Great Jacuzzi and nice fire pit to mingle with other guests. Very clean! Kept up and not very crowded. Highly recommended to spend a scenic secluded weekend with the ones you love!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FARLEYGRANGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My understanding is that this resort is under new management and they're changing it from a Spa Resort to just a condo resort. First the units are wonderful, but the unit we were in had two baths both with spa tubs but only one had a shower? Who would do that? It gets a little old having everyone use one shower which is very small. I would never have thought to ask if the tubs also had showers. Now the resort is very nice but they need to get a few things under control. When we checked in and went to our condo we passed some bagged garbage in the hallway three days later it was still there, please tell me that a resort worker hadn't passed this more than once. There was no maid service during the three days that we stayed at the resort. The outdoor hot tub is great. All but five of the units are sold, and it looks like they're going to build more villas.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Lakes
12.2 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Oneida Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Three Lakes
17 reviews
15.5 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
12.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
306 reviews
10.9 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#6 of 12 in Eagle River
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northernaire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northernaire Resort

Address: 6990 Bengs Rd, Three Lakes, WI 54562-9125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Three Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Three Lakes
Price Range: $137 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northernaire Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Northernaire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northernaire Resort And Spa
Northernaire Hotel Three Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing