We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Three Lakes Winery

Three Lakes Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Three Lakes Winery has been making the Original Cranberry Wine since 1972. The McCain family's unique wines are made from whole fruits and berries, no flavorings or grape wines added. If you've never tasted a fruit wine before - start with these. A whole new world of wines await you!
McHenry, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The winery was so nice, wine was amazing. The staff is very helpful and polite. The staff makes you feel like they are your friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Tour”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I toured the Three Lakes Winery last week as part of Cranberry Festival Tour. The tour to the Cranberry Marshes conducted by the Chamber of Commerce was very informative.
After the marsh tour we were taken to Three Lakes Winery for approximately one hour. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and wine tasting at this facility. The staff was energetic and very helpful, the winery was very clean, and the variety of wines we sampled were good (this comment is from a non-wine drinking person).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Must do in Three Lakes”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My Mom and I checked out the winery last Saturday and had a fabulous time. She had always wanted to go for years and I don't turn down wine tasting ever. :)

It was pretty busy with many other people doing the wine tasting. You get 6 small tastings for free to see what you like. Honestly the cranberry (and other berry) wine's were a bit too tart or sweet for me. But there was one called Blackberry Cabernet (Black Cab) that was delightful. We even bought 3 bottles. At $12 a piece that really isn't too bad considering. The inside of the winery is so cute with lots of goodies to purchase. Lots of gifts as well.

Definitely be back for the Black Cab!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlsacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
202 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to stop and enjoy some local wine”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Living in the area I can tell you that this place keeps getting better each year. They are housed in the old railroad station in downtown Three Lakes. The building is interesting in its own right. They offer a wide variety of wine they make on location much with local fruits. The store offers other local items for sale.
It is a worthwhile stop if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun to do”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Winery is a fun thing to do on a day when the weather may not be permitting lake activities.
Make sure you do the tour and wine tasting.
We do it every year at cranberry fest as they also take a bus tour to the cranberry marsh and then a bigger tasting event at the winery as part of the tour package.
Prices are very reasonable for their products and the store is cute inside.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank don w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Lakes Winery also viewed

 

Been to Three Lakes Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing