We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food in a warm environment”

Remington's River Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Thiensville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Solid food in a warm environment”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Tucked away in the small downtown of Thiensville, this cozy restaurant provides excellent food and friendly waitstaff. The food is more comfortable than fine cuisine, and the prices are reasonable. Enjoy the au jus beef sandwich or a chicken tenders with the kids. The soups are soothing, and the nightly specials are worth checking out. The Friday fish fry is solid, if unspectacular. Save $ by using restaurant.com.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speaker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    42
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible - AVOID - Go somewhere else!!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I stopped by one evening for a couple drinks - the bartender was very rude - he DEMANDED that he hold our credit card - for a $10 bill!!! We were shocked, we have NEVER been treated that badly EVER. Then our card was just laid on the counter for anyone to see or grab!!! Terrible terrible attitude!!! Found a much better establishment just 10 minutes away - don't bother with this place..

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadia0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Inconsistent Service, Adequate Food”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Because of its location and hours, I am a somewhat frequent patron. The place is attractive and comfortable and has a nice deck overlooking the Milwaukee River. Generally, the floor staff is quite good, but the bartenders often are too busy socializing to take your order. Some of the appetiziers are quite good, and the steak sandwich is (most of the time) very acceptable. Much of the rest of the food, however, is very ordinary. leaning on the bland, bar food. That would be fine, except that it tends to be priced a couple of dollars per entre more than you would expect for bar food of this quality.

No reason not to go here if your friends want to; however, there is no reason to go out of your way to go here. For comparison, the food at the Centennial in Mequon is significantly better with very comparable atmosphere.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WILawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown Deer, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We're regulars...for a reason!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is our favorite hangout! We have dinner here at least once a month, and a couple of Saturdays each month we hang out with Sandy for a couple of beers and an appetizer or sandwich. On the dinner menu, the Pan Fried Walleye is outstanding; I can never seem to get past it on the menu when I want to try something else. The nachos are crazy good: there's more than two can finish! The dining room is warm and homey with knotty pine walls, floor and tables, and the grotto is too cool. They do a great job every time we go, and Sandy and Bruce are the best!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownDeerBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Wi
Level Contributor
205 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
“GREAT Setting GREAT Meal !!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stopped in at Remington's on a Sunday about dinner time. Not too busy , we were greeted with a smile and friendly greeting as we came thru the door , seated right away , served by very pleasent and friendly waitress. Prices looked a little high , but not nuts. We were told about the dailey special and both ordered it. Prime rib strips over angel hair pasta with a alfredo & maranara sauce with sun dried tomatoes and some other stuff , IT WAS GREAT , and plenty of it. We had a couple of beers , enjoyed the wonderful log home setting. What a GREAT time .....good food , beautiful place , great service and I still had money in my wallet. We will be back !!!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CQtopgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remington's River Inn also viewed

Thiensville, Mequon
 

Been to Remington's River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing