We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Perkins, nice lake view”

Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #35 of 87 Restaurants in Superior
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
334 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Nice Perkins, nice lake view”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Perkins retaurants are always reliable, good food at a reasonable price, this one has the added bonus of a lovely view across the lake, and friendly efficient staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    14
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“THE ONLY SHOW IN TOWN!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This pretty much the only restaurant near the Holiday Inn Express in Superior and it is set in a nice location, right on the Lake. The food and service were good and I wouldn't hesitate to eat there again. Great place for family and a good alternative to going into Duluth with the crowds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mostly typical of chain”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Headed to Perkins for a lunchbreak from MACHE conference at DECC. We've had Perkins many times before in different areas, apparently this particular restaurant has been around for years. Food was overall pretty good....just a couple of issues.
1) Muffins ~ Since when is a muffin just a "giant cupcake". I took one bite of my cranberry muffin, and it wasn't muffin texture at all. It was yellow cake mix with cranberries in it and large crystal sugar on top. BLAH! If I'd have wanted cake, I would have ordered cake (or gone home and baked one). A muffin should look, taste, and have the texture of a muffin, NOT cake.
2) Waitress wasn't the greatest. There are just little details, like placing silverware in front of each person, instead of plopping it all on the edge of the table. Same with drinks and condiments. No attention to detail there.
3) As a "convenience" (I guess) the waiter & waitress left the folding table that normally holds a dinner tray ,unfolded right beside our table after serving the table beside us. This was awkward for us to walk around to the restroom, and it was also inconsiderate of co-workers to leave it set up, right where they had to walk to serve other patrons.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank godprovides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
337 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The restaurant is pretty spacious and the service attentive. The portions you get are enormous. A usual European can't finish it.
We went there with 6 adults and a baby and had pancakes, potato pancakes, sandwiches and soup and salmon. Everyone was satisfied with the food, but it kind of lacked something. It didn't look nice on the plate at all. Just like thrown on to it and out to the guest.
I had salmon with two times broccoli. The broccoli didn't have any seasoning, which was a pity but the salmon was fried to the right point.
We were seated in the back part of the restaurant which was nice, cause there wasn't almost any noise at all and we could chat with each other without yelling. The toilets need a make over. The tiles of restrooms have the color of puke and they are pretty worn down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, WI
Level Contributor
236 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fast, Friendly, Team delight!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were in Superior, WI for a Girls Basketball Classic this past Friday and Saturday. Friday night after our game we called the Perkins and asked if they would be able to handle 25 people at a moments notice. They said absolutely when will you be here - we were there in about 10 minutes. The service was amazing! The waitresses were very friendly and they took our orders quickly - the food came fast - for 25 people this was impressive! The waitresses were also very attentive - and smiley - especially since they were dealing with 25 teenage girls. Everyone in our group got plenty to eat and everything was yummy! We all left there very happy! This is absolutely the BEST PERKINS I have every stopped at!!! THANK YOU! JOB WELL DONE

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HTCWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Perkins Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing