We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worest!!!”
Review of Androy Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Superior
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Androy Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Superior
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel should not be allowed to rent rooms. It advertizes that it is smoke free, but they "grandfather" the renters in so they can smoke. Rooms were ok, but everything is old and all the bathroom fixtures need to be replaced.

On a good note, the front desk staff was very nice in giving me my money back so I could go to another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

I called for a reservation and the person who answered was RUDE! I was spelling my name/email addy using..B as in boy etc. He told me to STOP TALKING LIKE THAT and just spell it. I did, he got it wrong AGAIN. I tried to correct him he yelled at me saying THAT"S WHAT I SAID. Which he had wrong again. If THIS is the first thing you get before you even stay there, there is NO WAY I would walk into your door. Customer Service classes are needed in this establishment!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Debi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice before when in Superior for the night to go out with friends, while it is older and no frills, it is clean, located in the center of the downtown bars/nightlife and with rates at $55 you can't beat it! It is a older property, but I think that is part of the unique charm. . It is certainly a no frills hotel, but rooms are clean and offer radio alarm clock, tv, 2 queen beds and all no smoking rooms. There is also a bar on site and 24 hour cafe style restaurant that has good basic homestyle, breakfast, lunch and dinner all for a cheap price.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are probably the same, as this hotel is more of a historic unchanged landmark hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northshoregirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Located on a busy street In Superior....MANY bars within walking distance and mom and pop breakfast restaurant downstairs. Hotel is OLD but clean.... when can you get a room for $40 these days including tax? If you do not plan on doing anything but sleeping in your room anyways....this is perfect. Clean and quiet. Barsoap in room but no shampoo.... You can tell hotel is old....but staff was so friendly and helpful. I will use this hotel again when in the area. $100 less than some other hotels in Superior and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rgillMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is an old historiec hotel. Still has mail drops between the floors, a bar, and cafeteria. It is OLD. Everything about it is old and could use renovation. Rooms are either small or big, usually no ac, and sometimes the steam radiators do not work that well. But, you are right downtown and can walk alot of places if you like bars and joints. There are strips joints all around. It is not a kid friendly hotel unless you are going out of the area. Not always the cleanest, but enjoy the atmosphere a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

It's true: You either love it, or you hate it. I love it! It's clean, it has all you need: a bed, a bathroom, a secure room. It even has cable. If you are looking for simple, basic, clean accomodations, the Androy is it. $39.00 single occupancy. Honestly, I stayed at a $160 a night property the week before and was scared to take my shoes off...The Androy was cleaner! Seriously! Sure, outdated decor, no pillowtop mattress, no shampoos, but CLEAN. AFFORDABLE. SAFE. Staff is friendly, courteous, helpful. Great place for the budget conscience. Free WiFi in the lobby, free parking in the lot out back. As for me, the money I saved staying at the Androy, I spent at the Mall! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CrystalJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Okay, for the folks who are naysayers about the Androy, I believe it is all about expectations. If you are expecting the Best Western, this is not your place. Look close - it's not dirty, it's just old. That's precisely what I love about it. You have to appreciate how vintage the Androy is. You have to want to totally geek out about the original 1920's bathrooms with octagon tile, the old letter box, the big chunky keys for the doors, the step back in time lobby, the original hotel telephone switchboard, and the rooms for under $50. The Androy has almost a cult following. People either love it or hate it. But if you love it, you will come back again and again. Can't beat the location - can walk to any number of live music or night life venues. Papa Don's restaurant downstairs is one of the best greasy spoon breakfasts in town. Walk across the street and get a Vintage Italian Pizza to take back to your room. Just minutes from all of the attractions in Duluth without having to pay out the nose for Duluth Hotel prices (and couldn't find this kind of character at those places anyhow). So many reasons to love the Androy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank bfinstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
5.4 mi away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 9 in Superior
305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
0.7 mi away
Best Western Bridgeview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barkers Island Inn
Barkers Island Inn
#6 of 9 in Superior
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Superior Duluth
3.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 31 in Duluth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Androy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Androy Hotel

Address: 1213 Tower Ave, Superior, WI 54880-1566
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Superior
Price Range: $29 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated historic hotel in downtown Superior. Our staff strives to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. Newly renovated rooms, restaurant and bar. Walking distance to several eating and drinking establishments. Daily, weekly and monthly rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing