We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveler with dog”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Androy Hotel

Androy Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Superior
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Androy Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Superior
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
207 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Traveler with dog”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is an old historiec hotel. Still has mail drops between the floors, a bar, and cafeteria. It is OLD. Everything about it is old and could use renovation. Rooms are either small or big, usually no ac, and sometimes the steam radiators do not work that well. But, you are right downtown and can walk alot of places if you like bars and joints. There are strips joints all around. It is not a kid friendly hotel unless you are going out of the area. Not always the cleanest, but enjoy the atmosphere a lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

It's true: You either love it, or you hate it. I love it! It's clean, it has all you need: a bed, a bathroom, a secure room. It even has cable. If you are looking for simple, basic, clean accomodations, the Androy is it. $39.00 single occupancy. Honestly, I stayed at a $160 a night property the week before and was scared to take my shoes off...The Androy was cleaner! Seriously! Sure, outdated decor, no pillowtop mattress, no shampoos, but CLEAN. AFFORDABLE. SAFE. Staff is friendly, courteous, helpful. Great place for the budget conscience. Free WiFi in the lobby, free parking in the lot out back. As for me, the money I saved staying at the Androy, I spent at the Mall! ;)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CrystalJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Okay, for the folks who are naysayers about the Androy, I believe it is all about expectations. If you are expecting the Best Western, this is not your place. Look close - it's not dirty, it's just old. That's precisely what I love about it. You have to appreciate how vintage the Androy is. You have to want to totally geek out about the original 1920's bathrooms with octagon tile, the old letter box, the big chunky keys for the doors, the step back in time lobby, the original hotel telephone switchboard, and the rooms for under $50. The Androy has almost a cult following. People either love it or hate it. But if you love it, you will come back again and again. Can't beat the location - can walk to any number of live music or night life venues. Papa Don's restaurant downstairs is one of the best greasy spoon breakfasts in town. Walk across the street and get a Vintage Italian Pizza to take back to your room. Just minutes from all of the attractions in Duluth without having to pay out the nose for Duluth Hotel prices (and couldn't find this kind of character at those places anyhow). So many reasons to love the Androy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bfinstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I had a lovely one night stay at the Androy. The place is old...yes. Very old. The age of the furnishings are forshadowed by the vintage phone line switchboard, and letter box in the lobby, which I thought was pretty cool.
There are a bunch of snack machines in the lobby, and a cafe that I didn't check out.
The room was very basic, and far from spacious. I can see where people would assume it is dirty, but on closer inspection, it was really just worn out (chipping enamel and tiles in the corners of the bathroom).
The bed was relatively comfy, and my only possible complaint was that there was no shampoos and no indication of where the ice machine was (turns out, you need to go to the front desk and they will give you a bag of ice). I found the stay to be WELL worth the wopping $39+ tax I paid as a walk in. They also offered free parking, and were in easy walking distance to a dozen or so pubs, and The thirsty Pagan brewery, which led to some evening fun.
The staff at both check in, and check out were extremely cordial, and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LXE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coasterdude318
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

I can't really think of a single good reason why anyone would stay here. It's frighteningly old and outdated. We checked in, too one look at the room, and left.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coasterdude318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Superior hotels

Duluth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with a friend to get away. What a getaway, it's like a time machine. The lobby and exterior are very old school and they still use ACTUAL keys, which was great because they always work. The hotel had an attatched bar that was just sort of a dive bar, dark with booths and guys that had been there for hours and hours. The room itself was old feeling, with the fan and window a/c unit going it just felt removed from the whole world. This hotel used to be a staple of class and wealth, now it is just sort of a reminder of that era, something out of a J.D. Salinger novel for sure. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank samicheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bridgeview Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
5.4 mi away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 8 in Superior
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Barkers Island Inn
Barkers Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Superior
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Androy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Androy Hotel

Property: Androy Hotel
Address: 1213 Tower Ave, Superior, WI 54880-1566
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Superior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing