We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barkers Island Inn
Nearby Hotels
$127
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Superior WI(Superior)(Great Value!)
$79
$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
30
49
60
28
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
49
60
28
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastsalad barsecond floorpool and hot tubplay cardsbeautiful view of the lakeshort drive to downtownnice big pooldefiantly stay here againthe entire pool areagreat areabed was very comfortablea nice place to stayclean hotelmarinagarlicpoolside
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 193 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an older building. Get a room on the second floor facing the lake and you can watch the sail boats and freighters. Room had a small window to see outside but was quite pleasant. No big screen TV. The pool was nice and the hot tub hot. The people were very nice and the food was great. Discount on meals and a free breakfast. Was very quiet.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina42775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

we were on road trip with our fam and needed a place to stop. we tried 4 other hotels and no vacancy, so this place was recommended. For $99 the room was clean. This hotel does need some updating, but it was good for what we needed.

I know its not their fault but there was about 2000 may flies flying around the entry door. Really grossed me out. Most hotels in the area had the same problem.

I would recommend staying overnight, but not sure I would stay for an extended period.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I had a four night stay here last week while vacationing in the Superior/Duluth area. Our room had a jacuzzi tub and faced the lake to the north. The room setup was nice with a little kitchen nook included.

The internet connectivity was terrible. They claim, and indeed do have 6 WIFI access points, none of which were reliable connections. The signals were so weak that never did all 6 even show up at the same time on the available connections screen. This one or that one would show briefly, just long enough to choose it and try to connect, only to watch it fail. Thinking that we were too far away, we took our device to the restaurant across from the front lobby but had no better result there. We mentioned this problem to the staff, and also overheard others in the hotel having the same frustration. The staff offered to "reset" their equipment but things did not improve. For most of our 4 day stay we were unable to connect at all: inexcusable in this day and age. If being connected to the internet is important then this is certainly not the place to stay.

The room was nice enough and the bed was ok. There was an old, smoky stench to our room that wasn't unbearable but not pleasant either. During our stay we saw two large dumpsters of old mattresses being hauled away and assumed that new ones had replaced them.

The island is a nice, quiet place to stay but is a bit isolating as there is really nothing else there but the hotel. The couple of meals that we had at the restaurant were tasty with adequate but unremarkable service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A great and friendly Hotel, rooms reasonable, dining had good food at a good price. Look for the rooms with a jacuzzi, you won't be disappointed. There was a good down home feel to this place presented professionally, hope we get to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: room with the jacuzzi
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed there one night over the fourth of July. The rooms were nice but are older. No flat screen TV, the shower head was from the 80's. The price was lower than the hotels in the area. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our room and the pool was very nice. The food was very good and not to bad of a price but they had no continental breakfast on Saturday or Sunday. Overall it was quiet and was comfortable and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews