We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Porch and Parlor as Welcoming as Innkeepers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scofield House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scofield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Porch and Parlor as Welcoming as Innkeepers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Extremely clean and decorated to show off the best of this fine Victorian B & B. We stayed for 4 nights in the Gazebo Room, which has a small porch and overlooks the gazebo. The home has a welcoming feel as you enter through the front door. I especially liked the vintage phone in the entry to call the innkeepers for any reason at any time. That is very convenient, and I have not seen that in any of the many B & B's we've stayed. Not only did I enjoy sitting in the parlor area checking out the cookbooks, but there is a swing and comfortable sitting area on the huge porch where I lazily read. The house beckons you to do so. The china, linen placemats and napkins at breakfast are a lovely touch to a 3 course, home-cooked breakfast. Some of the pastries were a bit dry for me; however, the gluten-free scones were great. During the rest of the day they have great cookies or brownies, tea, coffee, water, root beer, available for you. They have their own parking lot and street parking and a lovely front yard that sits back from the main street, Michigan St. Definitely consider staying in Sturgeon Bay at Scofield House. The innkeepers work very hard at their business, and offer great value.

Room Tip: The Gazebo Room is at the back of the home on the first floor; very quiet. It has its own entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chgotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
179
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Men. Falls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have stayed at a different B&B in Sturgeon Bay each time we've gone there over the past 7 years. But after staying at the Scofield House we have decided to stay here again next summer. Why? Well; the owners make you really feel at home; you get to use the whole downstairs; the 3-course breakfast was one of the best we've ever had anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedeClaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Wisconsin, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Guest House for 5 days and enjoyed our stay tooling through Door County tremendously. The home is very spacious, even for our family of 6, it has a beautiful kitchen and family room, and Dan was very kind and made sure we didn't need anything. It was a very quite, nice neighborhood too. Would definitely return to the Guest House! My only complaint is that it would be great if one of the bedrooms had a king size bed. Difficult to sleep on a full/queen bed when you are used to a much bigger bed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khetrick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Thanks Dan and Vicky, for a wonderful stay, loved the room, breakfasts, hot water available all day for drinks.
This B AND B is only a short way from the main downtown area.
Door county is beautiful be sure to visit both sides the bay side and the lake side

Room Tip: Water lilly room was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

,,,to a place that is the definition of B&B. Very clean! Very quiet! Comfy beds, beautiful rooms and great accommodations. Just enough modern ammenities to get by. They have WiFi and flat tv's. Other than that, a huge porch to read a book on. A great neighborhood with great activities and sights. No kids or pets allowed as you might expect. Exteremely friendly and helpful owners Dan and VIcki. Great breakfasts provided with your stay. It's always fun to talk with the other guests around breakfast. Snacks, tea and pop available 24/7. I have stayed here many times over the years. They have never let me down even once. Consistant quality at a very reasonable price to value ratio. If you envision what a Bed & Breakfast Inn should be, this is it!

Room Tip: The Room at the Top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanishingpoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Celebrated my wife's __ th birthday. Our second time staying at the Scofield House. Elegant historic home, beautifully appointed. Stayed in the Blue Room last fall. This time in the Gazebo Room with its private back entrance. Everything is top-notch. Close to beautiful downtown Sturgeon Bay. Breakfasted with the other folks staying there; enjoyable hearing their stories. Numerous small niceties that say "you are special." Will look to stay here again. Thank you Dan and Vicki for your warm, gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for 3 nights at Scofield House Bed and Breakfast. It was a very tasteful and immaculate property with a very welcoming/comfortable feel. The owners are fantastic and detail oriented, making sure that anything you would need is available and they are available to guests at all times. However, they also find a perfect balance between being helpful/available and being social with their guests. The breakfasts were incredible each day. The rooms are well appointed and extremely clean. The beds are very comfortable and the linens are top quality. Afternoon cookies were one of my husband's favorites and having locally bottled rootbeer/soda and chilled water always available near the rooms was also an unexpected surprise. Travel literature/maps are available to guests which was helpful as we explored the peninsula and took in some biking, hiking, golfing, shopping, and just enjoyed exploring the small towns. The Scofield House is very quiet and within walking distance of the downtown area which was not as large or busy as we anticipated. It is very charming and enjoyable, with a nice variety of food places and shops. Thank you Vicki and Dan...we hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: We were able to see all of the rooms during our stay and they are all very nice. Description/photos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
24.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Lace Inn
White Lace Inn
#7 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
21.0 mi away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scofield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scofield House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Scofield House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 908 Michigan St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Scofield House Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing