We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanda Jean's is a CLASSIC”
Review of Wanda Jean's

Wanda Jean's
Ranked #45 of 85 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
178 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wanda Jean's is a CLASSIC”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This long standing, cozy neighborhood resturant offers a great menu variety with a down home-cooking flair. If you don't like something they are quick to accomodate. Service is friendly and what makes going here fun for us is that we always end up in multiple conversations with other friendly local patrons.
Customers should remember, this is not a 5 star resturant with an outrageous 5 star price. It is a great neighorhood classic family resturant. I recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mabarley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You need to think of it like a Country Kitchen”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The first time we traveled to town we asked the locals where to eat - several people answered with "Wanda Jeans". Boy were we disappointed! My husband had the meatloaf and I have chicken strips. While my meal was fine for the price, his was terrible. Since moving to Sturgeon Bay I made him try it again for breakfast and it was just fine especially for the money. The thing with this place is that you need to think of it as a Perkins or Country kitchen. Would meatloaf or a steak be good at those places? - "No!" This is a cheap little diner - nothing fancy, so don't order anything remotely fancy. Sandwiches and breakfast items are fine, but if you order anything where you'd expect some attention or quality, you are going to be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BelindaSherona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Place. Nice People”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I Like Wanda Jeans. I do wish they would post the hours for there Sunday Brunch somewhere.. but Other the that lack of information. Its got good food. And that staff is super nice. I work nights and sometimes I just don't want to go home and cook at 6am.. and its a nice stop for that once in awhile treat. I have been there for Lunch too. I think the food is good. Maybe not the fried chicken unfortunately it doesn't suit my taste buds.. BUT every thing else I have tried.. I've liked... So.. I'd check this place out if I were you..!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place looks totally average from the outside. But inside the restaurant is spacious and friendly. Got very good service on a Sunday afternoon and still came in time for Brunch. What a ton of food for a great price. Unreal how good everything tasted. The staff was so friendly and waited on our every need. They even made more shrimp for us when the buffet was over. We ate so much because it was so good. Would recommend this as a good family restaurant with a great value. Something for everyone. Wanda Jean keep up the good work! I would love to come back. Thank you for advertising in our area - we would have missed a really great deal otherwise.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank scholr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun summer lunch!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a late lunch here, it was great food with old school cafe vibes! Good service and fiar prices.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanda Jean's also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Wanda Jean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing