We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place, attentive staff, decent food”

Mandarin Garden Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 85 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Forestville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun place, attentive staff, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I took my family of five here and had a good experience. The waitstaff was attentive to my children. Our food came out quickly. Food was typical for a chinese restaurant. What really makes this place great, however, are the baskets of cinnamon sugar sticks they place on the tables. A really nice treat for the kids (and for the adults!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDJ111979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gridley, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A bit quirky but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've been to plenty of oriental restaurants and this one is pretty typical. The menu has some oddities in the naming of some of it's dishes. For example the don't have "lo mein" noodles the have "soft cooked chow mein". Maybe it's a local thing. We were pleased with the food once we worked through a confusing order with our waiter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had their spicy garlic chicken and added pineapple to it and wow! It was just the right amount of spice and served over rice made it even better. The server was polite and prompt. The food didn't taste overly greasy and nothing on the plate looked questionable. Will definitely come again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The food was pretty good, it was hot we ordered the sweet & Sour chicken, I'm not fond of sauces with pineapple but this sauce was sweet and a little spicy, we also order Kung Po Chicken this wasn't as spicy as I like but still good flavor, pork fried rice had really good flavor and the vegetable chow mein/ lo mein didn't have much flavor at all. The meal portions we small for the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food & great lunch specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We are frequent guests at the Mandarin Garden. I like how they serve the Egg Foo Young, its different than any other Chinese place and great flavor. Do try to get there for lunch as the variety and price are worth mentioning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Garden Restaurant also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Mandarin Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing