We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was good, but food just mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nightingale Supper Club

Nightingale Supper Club
Ranked #6 of 85 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
286 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Service was good, but food just mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading the rave reviews here, we decided to make our only dinner out at the Nightengale Supper club. We were prepared for the outdated, but clean, decor of the club. Definitely reminds you of the traditional supper club. We had coupons from our hotel for dinner and drinks. Drinks were good. Server was friendly. But our food was just okay considering the price we paid for dinner (+65$ not including drinks for two people). Our biggest complaint was with the soup. The waitress told us the soup of the day was crab asparagus soup. Sounded delish! Until we got it and found it was immitation crab. A long way from real crab meat, as were the giant chunks of canned asparagus a long way from fresh asparagus. The remainder of our meal was good, but nothing to rave about.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    77
    21
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Prime Rib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Needs to get updated with the decor inside. Food is good!! Fresh and hot! Friendly staff. Worth the money!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Known for their prime rib on Thursdays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Even though this is a supper club known for great prime rib, we opted for other fare. My wife had ribs that she said were excellent. I had a vegetarian dish that was way above average. Service was very attentive and drinks were good. The prices were reasonable. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGrummpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had the steak and shrimp. All I can say is that its the best steak I've had in years! The shrimp was sweet, garlic, buttery and delightful. Awesome service. We made reservations at 4:30 and walked right in to eat at 6:30. It was very busy but it didn't feel like it because we weren't rushed at all. Very very clean also. Great experience and we will return for a repeat visit for sure.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tammul82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited on Thursday night, which is prime rib special night. For $14, we had a 1 pound prime rib that was cooked exactly to order and as tender as can be. Choice of soup or salad, potato and a loaf of fresh bread was included. The service was quite fast considering the number of diners in the restaurant. This is not a white tablecloth place, but if you are looking for a great value on good food, this is it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nightingale Supper Club also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Nightingale Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing