We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Place To Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great Place To Stay!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this great place for 4 nights and it was a wonderful experience. Robin is so pleasant and accommodating and is a great cook! Her B&B is comfortable, clean & filled with beautiful antique furniture and her garden is fun to enjoy. We had a different breakfast each morning & so delicious! After a day of visiting the Door County scenery and attractions we came back to home cooked pies, cookies, cakes and brownies and they all were so tasty!! Highly recommend you visit Robin!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
277
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, MN
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast for the first time for 2 nights and it was wonderful! We have stayed at other bed and breakfasts before - kind of a favorite way to stay for us. Robin was a delightful host, the room was extremely comfortable and the food was wonderful. What more could you want? Plus the location is great - Sturgeon Bay is a great place to base your stay in Door County - lot's to do there and it is the largest town you come to when you are going to Door County.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here for the weekend of the Century bike ride. Robin, the hostess, is an absolute delight and a wonderful cook. She made every breakfast seem like a special event and, after breakfast the first morning (a rich egg and cheese casserole kinda thing), I was already looking forward to breakfast the next morning (baked french toast with Door County cherries). The rooms are very clean and comfortable and Robin also has free wifi. We are already excited to go back next year. Per my girlfriend, it was romantic too. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having never stayed at a B&B before the Garden Gate was a fantastic first experience! We stayed in the cheapest room which was small, but nice and had a large bathroom. The Innkeeper, Robin, was very welcoming and makes wonderful food! Very cute Victorian house

Room Tip: Vintage Rose is small but has large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amj220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My Wife Robyn and I recently stayed at the Garden Gate B&B in Sturgeon Bay, Wi. Upon our arrival, Robin (the B&B owner) was happy to let us check in early. She was very warm and welcoming. She is very passionate about her job and loves to chat! The house is beautifully decorated with antiques. We loved our room which included a comfortable bed, quaint balcony where we could star gaze (if there hadn't been clouds), Flat Screen for night time, and a jacuzzi tub that fit both of us comfortably (6 feet tall and 5' 9"). Robin made fresh nighttime treats that were delightful (and she even shared the recipes). We were very happy with everything...and I didn't even get to the breakfast yet! Our first breakfast was a smoothie fruit cup; a cheese, egg, and hashbrown bake; and a dark chocolate chocolate chip muffin...hmm yum! Robin was very open to meeting our dietary needs as my Robyn is gluten-free. On day two, I had a yummy cherry yogurt cup and a cherry french toast bake, while Robyn had an egg-n-cheese bake.

If you are looking for a fabulous breakfast then Garden Gate is the place to stay!! If you are looking to get up and run (and not eat breakfast)...this is still the place to stay...just let Robin know the day before that you're leaving so she doesn't make you a plate of food (she'll still see you off with a muffin)!

We'd definitely stay here again and are considering bring some family members next time we journey to Door County!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am beyond thankful that my husband and I chose to stay one night at Garden Gate! We celebrated with just 2 nights in Door County for an anniversary celebration. One night was at Garden Gate, and Robin made our anniversary so special! She left 2 delicious shortbread/chocolate dipped cookies, a bottle of delicious cherry wine and a kind card congratulating us! The breakfast was incredibly delicious, baked goods for "snacks" amazing, house very clean and Robin was super friendly and kind. We plan to stay again next time we visit Door County!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iola
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Chocolates in our room, drinks, homemade treats, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, I could go on and on... Robin was very welcoming, and made sure that our children felt welcome, too. We were very pleasantly surprised, and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgdoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
385 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
768 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing