We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our second trip to this B&B.

Robin was kind, a great hostess and made an excellent breakfast. The stuffed cherry french toast was amazing.

The Lavender Room is worth reserving in advance. The giant bathtub is fun for relaxing and reading after a day of running around Door county.

Room Tip: The lavender room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Robin LOVES her job as hostess of the Garden Gate B & B, and it shows. She prepares gourmet breakfasts and presents them with great attention to the visual appeal of the table. The 1910 Victorian house has been lovingly restored and beautifully furnished. Her love of antiques is evident throughout the house, every corner of which is immaculately clean and warmly welcoming. We stayed in the room named Vintage Rose for three nights--the smallest of the four bedrooms, with an ample bathroom--all of which more than met our needs. We deeply appreciated Robin's willingness to adapt her menu plan to our specific nutritional needs. As enthusiasts of B & B stays, we found Robin as hostess, and the Garden Gate experience, to be one of the best values we have encountered.

doyle & mj

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Garden Gate B&B for one night and enjoyed our short stay. We did not have an opportunity to spend much time relaxing in the house and essentially just slept there and ate breakfast. Our bedroom was well-furnished and we appreciated having a television. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Although not there when we arrived, Robin had given directions to the three desserts she had prepared, as well as the collection of teas, instant coffees, and soft drinks in the upstairs hallway. They were delicious and the touches were appreciated.

Breakfast was very good and made with fresh, local ingredients (including strawberries picked the day before). We went away totally full and Robin made sure that we had enough coffee throughout.

The b&b is just a short walk from downtown. I was a bit wary driving up as the opposite side of the road isn't all that appealing to look at but was happy with the cozy house that we walked into.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelrenee_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Robin (the host) was an absolute delight. She has wonderful stories, and makes great food. When you get there it's like you're walking into a very nicely decorated house that you're going to be staying at for a few days. By the time you leave a couple days later, you're ready to call Robin one of your friends. The rooms are perfectly sized, decorated beautifully and tastefully, and are cleaner than any hotel room I've ever stayed in. The house has an old Victorian style that just works. I was there with my wife for our unofficial 2nd honeymoon only two months in to our marriage. Through talking to Robin, she found out that we were newlyweds. We left for the day to go see some of the sites in Sturgeon Bay and when we got back that night, in our room, there was a bottle of wine and a card that said congratulations! So she goes the extra mile to make your stay special! If Robin is still running this place when we have anniversaries, we will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Lavender" room. There is a Jacuzzi in that room and it's well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremiah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our first glimpse of this lovely Victorian home included a well-tended and unusual garden. The host, Robin, was gracious, informative and very talented in the kitchen. What a dynamo! She answered all our questions and gave us great tips to help us get the most from our first trip in Door County. Our room was so clean, with a very comfortable bed and all kinds of little ammenities. Robin had homemade treats for us every evening and coffee/tea set up for any time we needed it. We highly recommend the Garden Gate. It has everything you could ask for in a B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieb998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Robin is so charming, warm and friendly, her cooking is fantastic and her stories entertaining; she is very well versed of the going's on around the area and shares them all with her guests. We stayed in the Lavender Room, worth every penny, comfortable bed, double spa and private patio. All the comforts of home and more, so glad I choose the Garden Gate Inn.

Room Tip: All her room are above board, the Lavender Room is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjwilson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

With no advanced reservation or review, we found a couple B & B's in Sturgeon Bay but saw our hostess early in the afternoon, tending to her beautiful flower beds. We were just going to "drive by" but she came to our car with a bright smile and encouraged us to look around town and she'd be ready for us if we decided to come back. We are so glad we did! What a great find! A truly memorable stay with promises to return! You'll be very glad you stayed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JnRF973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
59 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
164 reviews
20.9 mi away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $115 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing