We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
altoona
1 review
“anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in the Lilac Room-loved the swirlpool tub! Our entire stay was wonderful, and it was all because of the lovely innkeeper, Robin. She had fresh baked brownies at night, movies and music for our room, charming living room and dining area, and the most delicious breakfast in the morning! Robin gave us directions to a fantastic restaurant with a beautiful view...we wouldn't have found it on our own. She made us feel so welcomed-we enjoyed great converstion and feel like we have a new friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    42
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
263
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pecatonica, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have stayed at other B & B's but the Garden Gate is exceptional. We were welcomed with a warm hug, great conversation and ideas of what to do. The room was wonderful and the bottle of wine was most welcomed. The Lavendar Room was so relaxing especially with the swirlpool tub. The late night cakes and morning coffee was delicious. The breakfasts we had were so filling and wonderfully presented. Robin's presentation and her special touches never went unnoticed. "Let there be light" will be remembered. We spent the days exploring the area but always felt like we were coming "home". Robin, you have a great "home" and thanks for sharing it with us. Your dream is a reality and those that come to visit you leave as "friends" We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms would be inviting depending on what you desire. We saw one other room and it was beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debi02_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Over the weekend of February 21-23rd, my wife and I, along with two other couples spent a wonderful few days at the Garden Gate. Robin spoiled the heck out of us. She had prepared freshly baked chocolate cookies one day, freshly baked chocolate cake the next, and coffee at any hour. The hot breakfasts were excellent both mornings.

Her house was very attractively decorated with tons of seasonal and romantic items all over the place. The old highly crafted woodwork evident all over the house was also very neat.

The bedrooms all had great bedding actually better than home with little chocolate treats stashed hither and yon. Also what was nice was the fact that all of the three bedrooms which our group used were equipped basically the same way so deciding who would be where was pretty easy.

Room Tip: The lavender room is equipped with a jacuzzi but the other than that all rooms are perfectly done up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had a lovely, comfortable stay at the Garden Gate, even in the month of March. It was beautiful, clean and very cozy in the Garden Suite as well as the rest of the house. We felt very welcomed and right at home. The wine in the room was such a lovely surprise and the baked goodies during our stay were fabulous and of course breakfast was amazingly delicious. Cannot wait to come back and visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be the only couple on this February weekend, so we had a wodertime time chatting with Robin. Our room was beautifully decorated, and the morning coffee pot was much appreciated. Brakfasts were delightful, and we within walking distance of downtown. We loved the bottle of wine and red velvet cake - we'll be back!

Room Tip: The lavender room has a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, WI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Garden Gate B&B at the end of January 2013 as a Christmas gift from our kids. We stayed in the Lavender room at the front of the building - this room was also equipped with a large jacuzzi which we took full advantage of. The whole stay was a wonderful experience. The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. A bottle of wine was chilling for us when we arrived. Robin had baked a chocolate cake that evening and it was left out for ourselves and the other guests to tuck into.

As others have mentioned, Robin's Garden Gate really puts the "breakfast" into "bed and breakfast". Each of our breakfasts were delightful - very tasty and filling enough to last us through most of the day. The breakfast dining room and its large table are set up for conversation and we have a delightful time conversing with the other guests on the first morning and with Robin herself on the second morning.

This B&B is located just a few blocks from downtown and on both nights we elected to walk into town for dinner; it didn't seem far at all even on a typically cold Wisconsin January evening. We also took a guided trolley tour that picked us up right at the B&B.

There is no doubt that we would consider returning to Garden Gate in the future and we have enthusiastically recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LionelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit and I can't say enough nice things about the Garden Gate B&B. From the moment you step inside this charming Victorian, your innkeeper, Robin, makes you feel welcomed in her home. We have stayed in three of the four different guest rooms and they were all perfectly appointed for comfort and tastefully decorated. My personal favorite is the Cottage Rose room with its country charm and quiet reading nook. But, the best feature of our stay is always the scrumptious, candlelit breakfast, accompanied by friendly conversation and soft music. Not to mention the delicious homemade muffins and sweet treats! Robin has got to be the best cook in Door County and you never go away hungry! I can't wait for our next trip to Door County so we can visit again with our friend, Robin!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamillama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing