We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B with great host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B. We had planned to stay for 2 nights but could only stay for one, and I dearly regret it. Our hostess Robin, is the sweetest person u will ever meet. Her breakfast is too good to miss. She has so many stories to tell and so pleasant natured. I would love to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windytraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 378 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed in many B&B's and found the Garden Gate to be exceptional. Robin is definitely the hostess with the mostest. She is very, very welcoming and made us feel right at home. She also was very helpful with the local attractions. But the breakfasts were really something to enjoy. We didn not need to eat all day. Plus she always had fresh baked snacks upstairs for all to enjoy.Our room was very clean and accommodating We would definitely come back to stay again. Thank you Bob and Joan

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quilter54011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and the Garden Gate was truly a wonderful experience. Robin was so welcoming and she made us feel special everywhere we turned inside our room; candles, cake, lighting, fresh flowers, muffins, and fresh baked cookies every day. The breakfast was fantastic as well as the conversation! Every corner of the bed and breakfast held a welcoming eye-catching surprise. Robin was a wealth of knowledge about Door County and provided us with information specific to our vacation in Door County. This is a must stay if anyone is considering vacationing in Door County!

Room Tip: The Lavender Room is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Garden Gate was a great introduction to the B&B world. Robin is so kind with many great tips on local attractions (have to see the goats on the roof or take the tour, then explore), along with an excellent host and cook. The cherry french toast was amazing!!! My other half throughly enjoyed the chocolate cake and muffins we saved for later in the day. Rooms were so clean and nice. The Lavender room is very romantic with the whirlpool tub being an added bonus! I can't wait to return next season!

Room Tip: The Lavender Room rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

It was a great gateaway place for me and my husband. Cute little romatic rooms, perfect location(just a few blocks away from downtown) and very quite and clean.
The host(Robin) is a delightiful lady and really easy to get along with. The breakfast servered was delicious and kept us full throughout the day :) Also, the timing of the breakfast was perfect neither too early nor too late.
-Meghana

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Robin's B&B was our first experience at staying at a bed & breakfast. It felt just like being at home but more. Her hospitality & friendliness were beyond our expectations. We will definitely be back to visit. Five star Bed & Breakfast. Don't miss out when you are in Sturgeon Bay

Room Tip: Try out the front bedroom. It has a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast was very pleasant, the rooms were very clean and well decorated. Nice to have a private bath with each guest room as well as a flat screen TV. Snacks for at night and the breakfast was excellent. Robin as host was great. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, try the Lavender Room. Big room with a balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ned P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
165 reviews
20.9 mi away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $115 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing