We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaahhhh!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aaahhhh!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I had just finished a 150-mile bike ride Saturday and Sunday and just couldn't face the drive home. We found a luxurious respite at the The Garden Gate. So relaxing, comfortable, cool, and the room and bath were so peaceful and charming. Breakfast food and conversation were just wonderful. Robin was the perfect host. The home is decorated beautifully, the room was not over-done, and had touches like chocolates and a candle. Created a lasting memory after the Scenic Shore 150 and will plan to stay again next year (and will bring friends along).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMGrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
276
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Garden Gate is such a pleasant place. Great location - as it's the first place on the island - and it's an easy out when you're wrapping up. My girlfriend and I stay in the Garden Suite room. And it's perfect. Spacious and not overly decorated like some B&Bs can be. Robin is so pleasant and is always there when you need her. Selections of frosted pound cake and the most AMAZING chocolate cake were on tap this particular weekend. Breakfasts of egg/potato/ham souffle on Saturday and cherry stuffed French toast on Sunday were both exceptional. Be sure to take your breakfast muffin to go - it's PERFECT for 2PM that afternoon - and no lunch needed as we squeeze additional savings out of the weekend (we did it both days). The movie selection is great as always - the new flat TVs have brought the property up a notch. Overall - this is the place to stay in Door County. Robin wasn't quite fully on her game with restocking the fridge, but I know she'll be on it next time. If you're looking to go to Door County for the first time, this is the place. And if you're looking for a better deal than some otherwise overly priced B&Bs, give this place a try.

Room Tip: The Lavender Room has an awesome terrace. . . But we stay in the Garden Suite and we love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

All the reviews of this B & B are accurate! Robin is a fantastic hostess and makes a tasty, filling breakfast each morning. We never had to eat lunch while in Door County. We always took her muffins with us each day and ate them after hiking, biking, etc... Each evening there was always a different cake to snack on. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean. So glad we stayed here for 6 days,. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Door County.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CABurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a really great breakfast everything made from scratch. We even had 3 homemade cakes to snack on in the evening and morning along with drinks, movies, music and books. Robin is a wonderful hostess and has a beautiful victorian home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying with Robin at her bed and breakfast. We wanted to explore Door County and this was a great location to make the complete circle. Robin was warm and welcoming and is a terrific cook. She made us fabulous breakfasts staying within our dietary restrictions - and believe me that is not easy. She even packed us muffins and cake to take with us for the afternoons. The room was very comfortable and we chose the one with the whirlpool bath for 2. It was very relaxing after a long day of exploration. We even had a little patio to sit out and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara6225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast. Robin was wonderful and full of surprises in helping us celebrate. She invited us in and we felt like we were part of the family. Breakfast was awesome, delicious, filling!! We plan to go back next summerl

Room Tip: The Lavendar Room was very beautiful and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My Wife and I stayed for 3 nights for our 15th anniversary. The entire home was immaculately clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the rooms are very quiet. The whirlpool in the Lavender room was so romantic and relaxing (and super clean too). The breakfasts were very good and filling, we didn't need to buy lunch any of the days we were there. The desserts in the evening were so yummy, and adds something unique to this B&B. We've stayed at others and have never been offered dessert. Nice selection of movies to watch. The location was great, just a short drive north to any of the tourist attractions. Robin was very friendly and we felt very comfortable in her home. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Robin and the Garden Gate B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing