We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entry to Door County”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Entry to Door County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Robin was a very nice hostest with great cooking skills. We stayed two nights ane both breakfast were fantastic. We were able to wrap the muffin(s) to take with for our day travel. An added bonus was each evening there was a desert waiting upstairs for the guest. The house is located one block from downtown area. She loves to flower and the grounds were full of flowers. The main floor was neat and had a living room for you to relax and talk to other guest or Robin. The breakfast area is the next room over. During breakfast she play relaxing music as well. There are 4 rooms and we stayed at the largest one, I think lavender room. It has a large whirlpool tub. The room was a nice size and decorate in lavendar colors. There are nice sayings related to a loving relationship. There is a gust book that isi fun to thumb through while sitting on a private porch. There is a ship yard across the street, but you still get a view of the bay. Just north of the house (short car ride) is a nice place to view sunsets.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhuselding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    42
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
263
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Robin's B&B was wonderful. Very welcoming and warm. Loved the extras - dessert, coffee and drinks at night, CDs/movies if you want them, and a wonderful homemade breakfast! Robin definitely made us feel at home and was so friendly and fun to talk with. We will definitely go back again! The only downside was that the B&B overlooked the ship yard, but you would never know from inside the home.

Room Tip: We were in the Vintage Rose suite, which has the smallest bedroom, but if you are enjoying Door Coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluzgrl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I have tried B&B years ago and I almost forgot how it is to feel at home in your trip...Robin, the inkeeper of Garden Gate overwhelmed us with her hospitality, first night waiting for our very late coming. She will make sure you will not leave her table in the morning still being hungry; any special request on the accomodation, she will try to fulfill it the best she can. It is a constant feeling of love, joy and relaxation from the very first step of the door to the cakes, movies, CDs, little hear shape chocolates waiting for you on the night stands in your room. Breakfast was fenomenal! I loved it! All organic, healthy food. Not 2 days same breakfast.
I will go back anytime! You shoud definitely try it!

Room Tip: balcony/ deck available for some of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leona1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Great hospitality and conversation with Robin made our stay very enjoyable. Fantastic breakfast and lovely evening dessert. You will enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skmgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast, and we will definitely do it again. The rooms were smaller than we expected, but everything was very clean. Robin, the inkeeper, was wonderful. She goes out of her way to make you feel very welcome, from refreshments and cake available outside your room to a selection of movies and music. The best part is the breakfast which was delicius.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This was our first stay at a B&B and we enjoyed it. The rooms were larger than we expected them to be and the private deck was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, MK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Garden Gate B&B is a lovely, welcoming place to stay when enjoying the lovely Door County locale. Robyn, the owner/magician, offers a charming and homey atmosphere with attention paid to detail and comfort. My husband and I received a voucher to stay as an anniversary/birthday gift, and our experience exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Lavendar room, which was thoughtfully and romantically decorated - and the little balcony and huge hot tub didn't hurt either! The room was immaculate and decorated better than many other B&Bs out there. Linens and towel were high quality - I could have spent all day in bed if there wasn't so much to do. Robyn leaves fresh pastry,drinks,coffee, popcorn, movies and music at the top of the stairs - perfect for a snack or a night in. But the real treat are her breakfasts! I would pay just to go and eat! She serves lovely, inventive dishes and caters to the likes of her guests. The conversation with fellow travelers was excellent, and the table spread was impressive without being overdone. I cannot say enough about this place! Try to stay before its too booked up to get a spot.

Room Tip: Email the owner and tell her your needs - she'll recommend a room. Lavender room especially rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkumar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing