We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertisement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Maritime Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“False Advertisement”
Reviewed February 5, 2007

Hospitality was Great. I booked a weekend at Best Western, because they claimed to have a work out room and a bar/lounge and a restaurant on site. Though when I arrived I found none of these features. Best Western Maritime Inn must correct this false claim.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Fals Advertisement
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WisconsinMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    174
    84
    28
    11
See reviews for
190
173
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We stayed 2 nights at this Best Western and were very impressed with the accommodations and friendly staff. We were staying here while traveling with a large bike tour group through Door County. The staff was supportive of our needs for an early breakfast and did allow our bikes to be brought into our rooms. We arrived early for check in and were surprised to be handed our room key immediately at no extra cost. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Liked — Room Comfort
  • Disliked — Question our 2nd room as really a non-smoking room
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RansRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 1, 2006

We stayed one night - paid about $120 on weekend - we got our money's worth. Check-in desk was friendly and helpful. They had mini sewing repair kits in a basket at the counter. There was a breakfast buffet served from 6 to 9, but when we went down at 9:30 we were still able to get something as the lady cleaned up. She was very nice. (included was cereal from a dispenser - smart move against travelers who like to stock up on the cereals! and yummy mini-muffins of assorted flavors.) They allow pets there, too . The place was sort of old but clean & well-maintained (things you take for granted til they are broke: doors that open easily, etc.) and had nice little touches like plastic laundry bags in the room. I just really enjoyed my stay there - no problems, parking lot to room was short walk, wasn't noisy there, traffic was not heavy. Another nice touch is that it is located across the street from a group of stores, so if you forgot anything from home or just need aspirin, you are set. Excellent place to stay if you just want a place to rest and then go out and about your day.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2006

The Best Western was great for the price. The rooms were a good size with a fireplce in the lobby to sit and read. The pool was nice and the whirlpool was great.My only problem was the continental breakfast was really small so bring snacks back from out shopping.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2005

The best word for this hotel is "fine" - as in nothing spectacular, but perfectly acceptable.
The rooms are 'fine' (clean and neat with all the things you need.)
Breakfast was 'fine' (usual stuff, bagels, toast, cereal etc.)
Service was 'fine' (not dismissive, not over friendly etc.)

I think you see my point.

Overall, a nice enough hotel with a decent looking pool and, although the place does feel a bit dated, I saw no reason to avoid it and I would stay there again if there were ever a need (unlikely for me - see note 1 below).

A couple of side notes,
1) I may have been missing something (I was stopping over on my way through) but I would say that there is little or nothing to see or do in Sturgeon Bay itself - that isn't the hotels fault, I just mention it for those considering a stop-over
2) One of the reviews here (the April 2003 one) seems to be talking about a different hotel to the one I stayed at? Reference is made to the "Inn on Maritime Bay" (not the same name), to a restaurant (my eyesight isn't great but I would have noticed a restaurant attached to the hotel) and to Manitowoc (this hotel is in Sturgeon Bay and Manitowoc is miles away.)

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MattsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 22, 2004

We visit Sturgeon Bay both on and off season to see local family and have so far found the Best Western Maritime Inn to be the best value in town.

Rooms are adequately maintained, the continental breakfast is "typical", etc - just your average hotel for the most part.

Things that make me rank them "Above average" are the service - which has always been good (unfortunately not a given nowadays), and the indoor pool - which is not overly large, but is kept at a comfortable temperature vs. some other hotel's pools we've tried in the area. We stayed at one place where the kids (2 and 4 at the time) wouldn't even get in the water it was so cold! (Management at that site said the pool was at the proper temperature)

If there is a downside, the hotel is often more crowded than some others nearby, which can lead to pool crowding and/or hallway noise at times, but it's the side effect of the good price and service you get.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
15.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
306 reviews
14.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Maritime Inn

Property: Best Western Maritime Inn
Address: 1001 N 14th Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Maritime Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maritime Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Best Western Sturgeon Bay
Sturgeon Bay Best Western
Best Western Maritime Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing